Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUIW
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Followed to the T, with the exception of cooking the butter and sugar on the stove instead of in the microwave. Otherwise, just keep an eye when it's in the oven so it doesn't burn. Used pecans, and was a perfect treat! Also makes a big batch, so it's good to give away as gifts for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUIW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Tried it and found it AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Yum, Yum, Yum!!! So good, I could see myself getting into trouble if I made these too often. I had extra room on my sheet pan, so I used a whole package of crackers (about 42). These turned out really good, I couldn't wait for the hour in the fridge to set up before tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
It would have been great if only my chocolate chips melted by just sprinkling them on after I pulled the pan out of the oven, which they didn't. Then I tried putting the pan back in the oven to soften the chocolate but the chips turned cakey. Next time I will melt the chocolate in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I can't believe how good this is when it's so easy. 35 crackers is one sleeve and needs a cookie sheet that's 10" x 14." Be sure to cover the butter when you microwave it or you'll be cleaning up butter for a very long time! I like to use a whisk to really incorporate the brown sugar. I have found the cooking time to be too long - 13 minutes works better for me. Just make sure to use your nose; as soon as you smell anything resembling burnt, remove the sheet from the oven. Like others have sad, remember to push the nuts into the melted chocolate so that they don't fall off as often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
OMG! I had to remind myself that I'm a diabetic, it's so fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Armona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
So easy, soo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Love this recipe. With all the variations possible I can make five batches for cookie plates and they add great color. For two years the guys at work practically try to buy ingredients to get me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This treat is delicious! I was a little unsure about how it would taste with the soda crackers, but they actually don't taste at all like crackers once they're cooked. Tastes like toffee-- so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've been making this recipe for many years and it's always a huge hit. I prefer to cook the butter and brown sugar mixture on top of the stove and that helps to cut the baking time down to 5 mins. There are so many variations that can be made, such as white chocolate with crushed candy canes or with dried cranberries and chopped pistachios, various nuts, peanut butter chips, etc. I've tried making them with graham crackers instead of the saltines and we found them to be WAY too sweet! Lastly, I pop the tray into the freezer to hurry the cooling along because my sons can't wait for them to cool before "taste-testing" them for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States