Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by vicxstar
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This bread is wonderful! Tender and moist, yeasty and chocolatey! It is not sweet but is perfect with sweetened cream cheese. The only change I made was to use 6 tablespoons of brown sugar instead of the white, as I thought the brown sugar would enhance the chocolate flavor. Love, love, love this bread--thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The bread is perfect just the way it is! Savory and rich chocolate. It isn' t not a sweet bread. If you want brownies make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was delicious! I couldn't stop eating it! I did change it around a little by putting in two tablespoons of molassas. It was perfectly sweet. It's nothing like cake...it's bread, so you can't expect it to be oozing with flavour. Definitely a new favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kay Govocek
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Just baked this morning - terrific bread! Instead of making into rounds, I divided the dough and put each half into a greased 9x5 loaf pan. Baked as directed and they came out perfectly. Crisp crust, savory rich chocolate flavor. This is NOT a sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Govocek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
this bread had the texture, colour and chocolate flavour that i wanted, but could really, really use some more sugar. because I have a sweet tooth and love chocolate, i'm definitely going to double the amout of sugar next time i make it to suit my own taste buds. great recipe! oh yeah i forgot, there was waay too much salt. half it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Years back I had a savory chocolate bread in a fancy restaurant in Mexico. I was tickled to find this and with a few tweaks it was pretty close. I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon & 1/2 teaspoon mild chili powder. I also reduced the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons. This was so darned easy and went well with a pot of beef stew. BTW if you are looking for a dessert bread....this is not it..... nor is it supposed to be. Thanks so much for sharing Bowen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Though I have yet to make this, I love the idea the recipe conveys- a real chocolate flavour. Chocolate is not supposed to be sweet, but rather rich. To heighten that appeal, switch the sugar with some molassas and honey, and add 70-75% dark chocolate (semi-sweet or unsweetened will do fine). If you prefer it sweeter after that, mi a bit of cocoa with some honey and cream cheese, and use as a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is similar to the bread served in a few steak house chains and Outback. I made a few small modifications. I used half white whole wheat flour and half AP and replaced the sugar with honey. I may add a bit of Mexican cinnamon and even some cayenne powder the next time I make it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
The first time I made it I followed the recipe and it seemed like it was missing something. I increased the sugar and added vanilla extract and served it with strawberry cream cheese. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Like the other reviewers, I was looking to make this recipe into something it isn't: sweet. I added about a cup more sugar than the recipe called for, and the bread still wasn't sweet. It seems like such a good idea--a yeast bread with chocolate baked right in. It works with peanut butter. I guess I'll have to keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States