Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
The first time I made it I followed the recipe and it seemed like it was missing something. I increased the sugar and added vanilla extract and served it with strawberry cream cheese. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
this bread had the texture, colour and chocolate flavour that i wanted, but could really, really use some more sugar. because I have a sweet tooth and love chocolate, i'm definitely going to double the amout of sugar next time i make it to suit my own taste buds. great recipe! oh yeah i forgot, there was waay too much salt. half it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Sorry, this recipe just wasn't my cup of tea, so to say. I even doubled the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Like the other reviewers, I was looking to make this recipe into something it isn't: sweet. I added about a cup more sugar than the recipe called for, and the bread still wasn't sweet. It seems like such a good idea--a yeast bread with chocolate baked right in. It works with peanut butter. I guess I'll have to keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was delicious! I couldn't stop eating it! I did change it around a little by putting in two tablespoons of molassas. It was perfectly sweet. It's nothing like cake...it's bread, so you can't expect it to be oozing with flavour. Definitely a new favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Found this recipe to be very bland. I agree with the other reviewers that something is definately missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Though I have yet to make this, I love the idea the recipe conveys- a real chocolate flavour. Chocolate is not supposed to be sweet, but rather rich. To heighten that appeal, switch the sugar with some molassas and honey, and add 70-75% dark chocolate (semi-sweet or unsweetened will do fine). If you prefer it sweeter after that, mi a bit of cocoa with some honey and cream cheese, and use as a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is similar to the bread served in a few steak house chains and Outback. I made a few small modifications. I used half white whole wheat flour and half AP and replaced the sugar with honey. I may add a bit of Mexican cinnamon and even some cayenne powder the next time I make it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The bread is perfect just the way it is! Savory and rich chocolate. It isn' t not a sweet bread. If you want brownies make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Years back I had a savory chocolate bread in a fancy restaurant in Mexico. I was tickled to find this and with a few tweaks it was pretty close. I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon & 1/2 teaspoon mild chili powder. I also reduced the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons. This was so darned easy and went well with a pot of beef stew. BTW if you are looking for a dessert bread....this is not it..... nor is it supposed to be. Thanks so much for sharing Bowen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States