Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I made this out of curiousity, and it was good. I added chocolate chips, which I liked, because it added some sweetness as a contrast flavor. If anyone else decides to add chocolate chips - make sure there are none on the surface when baking. They burned pretty badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This bread is wonderful! Tender and moist, yeasty and chocolatey! It is not sweet but is perfect with sweetened cream cheese. The only change I made was to use 6 tablespoons of brown sugar instead of the white, as I thought the brown sugar would enhance the chocolate flavor. Love, love, love this bread--thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
The bread did not come out the way I hoped. It did not rise, nor was it as light and fluffy as I wanted. The flavor however, was good. It had a soft, sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Photo by Kay Govocek
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Just baked this morning - terrific bread! Instead of making into rounds, I divided the dough and put each half into a greased 9x5 loaf pan. Baked as directed and they came out perfectly. Crisp crust, savory rich chocolate flavor. This is NOT a sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Govocek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Years back I had a savory chocolate bread in a fancy restaurant in Mexico. I was tickled to find this and with a few tweaks it was pretty close. I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon & 1/2 teaspoon mild chili powder. I also reduced the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons. This was so darned easy and went well with a pot of beef stew. BTW if you are looking for a dessert bread....this is not it..... nor is it supposed to be. Thanks so much for sharing Bowen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The bread is perfect just the way it is! Savory and rich chocolate. It isn' t not a sweet bread. If you want brownies make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is similar to the bread served in a few steak house chains and Outback. I made a few small modifications. I used half white whole wheat flour and half AP and replaced the sugar with honey. I may add a bit of Mexican cinnamon and even some cayenne powder the next time I make it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Though I have yet to make this, I love the idea the recipe conveys- a real chocolate flavour. Chocolate is not supposed to be sweet, but rather rich. To heighten that appeal, switch the sugar with some molassas and honey, and add 70-75% dark chocolate (semi-sweet or unsweetened will do fine). If you prefer it sweeter after that, mi a bit of cocoa with some honey and cream cheese, and use as a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Found this recipe to be very bland. I agree with the other reviewers that something is definately missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was delicious! I couldn't stop eating it! I did change it around a little by putting in two tablespoons of molassas. It was perfectly sweet. It's nothing like cake...it's bread, so you can't expect it to be oozing with flavour. Definitely a new favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States