Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great dessert for Thanksgiving...on the rich side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I've made this twice and the 2nd time I used 1 C DARK chocolate chips. EVeryone loved it. Also, it is critical to follow step 2 exactly. If the sugar is not completely melted you will get a gritty filling. Also might try using baker's sugar....finer and will melt faster. And this amount nicely filled a 9" crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Tesson Curtis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Tried this out for Thanksgiving this year...It was a hit everyone loved it. I followed the tips that said 2 tbsp of bourbon, 1/2 cup chocolate chips, 3/4 cup of sugar. Easy to make and try making your own crust I did and I will diffentlly make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wow, wow, wow is all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Easy recipe with great results! I followed other suggestions: a bit less sugar, used 2 pie shells, spread chocolate chips out over the bottom. I also added the zest of 1 orange. Everyone at our Thanksgiving dinner enjoyed this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
very tasty. Reduced sugar to 2/3 cup and left out the bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I added a big handful of flaked coconut, which acted as sort of a sponge to sop up some of the excess liquid...and made it even more delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe and had enough "liquid" mixture for 3 deep dish pie crusts. I, like others, put the chocolate chips and pecans right in the crusts, then pour the liquid over the top - this ensures nuts and chocolate in every piece. I got lazy this time and left the pecan halves whole; the pie was prettier, but a little harder to cut. This pie has come to be known in our family as "crack pie," because it is so good you crave it, and I wouldn't dare have a family holiday without it or my in-laws would chase me with pitchforks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a terrific pie! I have made for several years now using different liquor for a twist. Last year it was kahlua, this year rum. FANTASTIC anyway you make it and requested by all our family and friends. Chocolate chips turn out better when you place them on the bottom of pie crust as others have commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I followed the suggestion of someone else and just spread the chocolate chips in the bottom of the crust. I found the chocolate to be too overwhelming and I couldn't taste the rest of the pie. I will definitely make it again, but I think I will leave out the chocolate....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States