Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Made this pie yesterday and it was delish! I am not a baker, and it came out really good, everyone loved it and it's now on the list for Christmas. Only thing I baked it a little longer, about an hour and 10 minutes, then turned the oven off and let it sit for another 15, oh and I added about a half cup more of pecans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imperial, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I wanted to like this a lot, but it turned out quite soupy inside. (To be fair, a lot of pies do that for me, perhaps because I live at a high elevation.) I made it exactly as written. The flavors were very nice, but "slices" of this pie, both fresh and as leftovers, were physically a mess. If this were properly thickened for me, I'd definitely bump up my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
WOW - this is phenomenal. I LOVE this pie. The bourbon flavor is a little strong, so I reduce it to a couple table spoons or so (I'm a bad measurer). But let me recommend - when you are choosing a bourbon to use in the pie - the brand matters. Try it with Southern Comfort. You will NOT be disappointed. It is naturally a little sweeter than other bourbons, and it works SO well in this pie. I've used Makers Mark and JD, but Southern Comfort wins!! It's so good. It's good in egg nog, too - which goes perfectly with the pie. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
As others have noted, the chocolate overwhelms the other flavors, and it's difficult to get the consistency right if you make the pie as written. It came out a bit like chocolate soup for me. Make sure you read the advice on modifying before you try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I have about 4 recipes for "Derby" pie. This is by far the best. If you like the pie, try it with Bourbon Whipped Cream (recipe on this site). Dangerous stuff. One note, if you use a pre-made frozen pie shell, you'll have too much filling. It makes enough to fill a Pyrex deep dish glass pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
It took forever to cook - over an hour and it's still not "set". Not sure if I did it wrong or not :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious pie. If you only buy one pie shell for this recipe, then you would be up -creek without a paddle! Someone change it to two shells, .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving as one of my desserts. It was very, very rich and very good. The only thing that I would do different next time is to half the amount of chocolate chips and possibly melt them first and add to the pie crust before the filling. The chocolate chips didn't seem to melt at all. This was very good with a little bit of whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made two pies, one for the in-laws and the other for my family. There were two different reactions the in-laws loved it, they love chocolate and have a huge sweet tooth, but my family thought it was too sweet now they don't like as many sweets. I actually thought it was kind of sweet and will cut back on the chips next time unless it is for the in-laws. Other than that everyone loved it and its really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sintia Cornejo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Great! My whole family loved this when I brought it for Thanksgiving. Next time I will add a little more bourbon because it was not as present as I expected. Also, I used mini chocolate chips so they would melt faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States