Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
My family requests that I make this pie every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. It's a huge hit and always the first dessert to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Adrienne Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
i loved this pie. BUT it does make 2 regular size pies. I took out 1c. of the sugar-corn syrup mixture before i added the egg mixture. I also left out the bourbon and substituted dark corn syrup instead of light corn syrup. baked it 57 minutes and it was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
We enjoyed this pie although I did follow some of the suggestions, only lined the baked pie crust with chocolate chips, used 2 Tbsp of bourbon and 1/2 c. of brown sugar and 1/4 c. of white sugar. I also used 2 c. of pecans. It was delicious and I did use a deep dish frozen pie crust. I think because I doubled the pecans I had some filling left over. I used this for a smaller pie crust, with which I did not use the chocolate chips. Taste was wonderful, closer to the pie I had at the derby than other recipes we've tried. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Better than my last attempt with a different recipe. Next time: I need to scale up the filing for a deep 9" deep dish pie. Needed a bit more to fill my homemade crust. I need to let the filling cool a bit more before mixing with the egg mixture. It cooked a bit and yielded a slightly scrambled egg texture in the warm pie. I have yet to try it cold. It might get better but half pie is gone already! It was that good and I made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
YUM! I used Kalua instead of bourbon as another poster did and had to bake the pie for almost 1-1/2hrs....sooooo good and rich! A small piece goes a long way, would be wonderful with vanilla ice cream! This is a keeper, will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Wow! I made this for a friend. I read all of the reviews in advance and did put the ghirardelli chocolate chips in the bottom of the pie crust instead of stirring them into the filling. Also I omitted the white sugar and used only 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar instead. One thing that I didn't like about pecan pie in the past was the overwhelming sweetness. This was just perfect. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of pecan halves to decorate the top of the pie. Beautiful. I wish that I had taken a picture. It looked like it came from a magazine but I made it myself! This will be a holiday favorite for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Moon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Aaaaamazing pie. Cut back on the bourbon to 2 T and melted the choc and spread on pie crust instead of mixing the chips into the filling. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sumera
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made two of these… both are gone. A few changes that I made: 1. I actually grated Hershey Kisses and lined the flakes on the bottom of the shell prior to pouring the mixture onto them. 2. I didn't have any bourbon around, and I didn't want to go buy any (especially since it had started snowing outside), so I used Irish Whiskey instead. 3. I decorated the top with chopped up walnuts and chocolate shavings. Both items toasted beautifully while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slough, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Oh my!, this was awesome. I tweeked the recipe as per others suggestions. Cutting the bourbon to 2 1/2 tbs and the sugar down to 3/4cup. I cooked mine 325° for 15 minutes then 300° for another hour. What I found most appealing is, the pie is much better the next day. The day of cooking didnt have much of the bourbon chocolate pecan balanced taste. It was still very good but the next day is worth the wait. This is going to be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I thought the flavor was great, but I would add more pecans next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States