Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
YUM! I used Kalua instead of bourbon as another poster did and had to bake the pie for almost 1-1/2hrs....sooooo good and rich! A small piece goes a long way, would be wonderful with vanilla ice cream! This is a keeper, will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Wow! I made this for a friend. I read all of the reviews in advance and did put the ghirardelli chocolate chips in the bottom of the pie crust instead of stirring them into the filling. Also I omitted the white sugar and used only 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar instead. One thing that I didn't like about pecan pie in the past was the overwhelming sweetness. This was just perfect. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of pecan halves to decorate the top of the pie. Beautiful. I wish that I had taken a picture. It looked like it came from a magazine but I made it myself! This will be a holiday favorite for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Moon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Aaaaamazing pie. Cut back on the bourbon to 2 T and melted the choc and spread on pie crust instead of mixing the chips into the filling. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sumera
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made two of these… both are gone. A few changes that I made: 1. I actually grated Hershey Kisses and lined the flakes on the bottom of the shell prior to pouring the mixture onto them. 2. I didn't have any bourbon around, and I didn't want to go buy any (especially since it had started snowing outside), so I used Irish Whiskey instead. 3. I decorated the top with chopped up walnuts and chocolate shavings. Both items toasted beautifully while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slough, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Oh my!, this was awesome. I tweeked the recipe as per others suggestions. Cutting the bourbon to 2 1/2 tbs and the sugar down to 3/4cup. I cooked mine 325° for 15 minutes then 300° for another hour. What I found most appealing is, the pie is much better the next day. The day of cooking didnt have much of the bourbon chocolate pecan balanced taste. It was still very good but the next day is worth the wait. This is going to be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I thought the flavor was great, but I would add more pecans next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
use it for big occasions, cut back in bourbon to just over half if using a 101 proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
What a surprisingly wonderful creation! I needed a pie for a family gathering where all of the usual suspects would already be supplied. So I tried this with the following medications as other reviewers suggested: 3/4 cup sugar and 2 T bourbon only, plus just a sprinkling of dark chocolate chips across the bottom of the unbaked pie crust. It was amazing! Very rich- but that is ok, just a little piece goes a long way. Thank you for sharing! Making it again now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I have tried this recipe several times and this pie is always a hit over pumpkin and apple pies at holiday gatherings. I also tried it with different bourbons vs whiskey and learned that the full amount (1/4 c) of a top shelf bourbon is the way to go. Does not have any bite to it that the cheaper stuff gives off. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I used Jim Beam Maple Bourbon for this recipe and it came out extremely well. I have some food allergies, so I used a gluten free pastry crust (bad idea - next time I'll use a GF graham cracker crust instead), organic brown rice syrup instead of corn syrup, and Enjoy Life chocolate chips. Note: This recipe makes enough filling for two 9" pies of standard depth. The white sugar could easily be cut in half or omitted entirely - this is a SUPER rich, sweet dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States