Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This pie is hit or miss depending on your guests tastes. I used about 3/4 the amount of bourbon the recipe called for and to me the bourbon taste was overpowering. Other guests loved it and thought it was the perfect ratio. Everyone thought the addition of chocolate was great (I put it on the bottom of the crust as most reviews suggested and I would also recommend that). Next time I will make this pie as is except omitting the bourbon and I think it will be just perfect, or the kahlua suggestion others mentioned sounds yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
i made this for christmas...you should too! my gater's boyfriend almost ate the whole thing before i realized that joker was on it. i didn't change a thing. terrific stuff! IT WILL BECOME A HOLIDAY TRADITION thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
not a good pie, don't make it. taste like pure liquor. 1 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Like Jay in Tennessee, I did push my Grandmother down the stairs for the last piece of this pie! Two good things came out of this. The pie was the best hit ever this holiday season, and Grandma's new hips are better than the original! She ended up thanking me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powerbar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I've been using this recipe since 2002. It always comes out perfect and everyone loves it. Just remember not to double it, pre-cook your pie shell for a carmelized effect, beat the eggs until just barely frothy, and always wrap your crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This pie was amazing! I doubled the recipe because I needed 2 pies for a work pot luck. I used Makers Mark which really made the flavors wake up, and I poured a 12 oz bag of Toll House semi sweet chips into my melted butter mixture. I have had Chocolate Pecan Pie disasters in the past. I find that this doesn't leave you with the hit or miss of flavor thing that has plagued my pies in the past. I used jumbo eggs which has always been a preference. I did end up making an extra pie crust and had 3 pies! I am so glad that I did too! This pie was the hit of the pot luck and I now have everyone convinced that I am quite the Gourmand! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
decided to try something new this year instead of a pecan pie. this turned out to be the best pecan pie i have ever had, so delectable! all my friends loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
loved this- only change was to put a single layer of choc chips in the crust before the filling. my husband thought the bourbon was a little powerful, but I didn't. the second time I made this I halved the bourbon and he still complained and I didn't think it was strong enough. A matter of personal taste. Next pie gets the full amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I don't like pecans but I made this for an office holiday party and it was a huge hit. There were FIVE pies, TWO pecan and this one was gone before all the others and in about an hour. So yeah, I guess it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Always perfects!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States