Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Excellent as is, and stupendous when you make alterations to fit your own taste preferences! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was ok, but way too bourbon-y. I added half the amount after reading reviews. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
A big hit! Used Jack Daniels and it was great. Our company loved it as did my husband. He wondered why I deviated from my usual non chocolate recipe but then was happy I did! Just a note, I only made 75% of the recipe ingredients, it would have been way too much volume for a regular pie size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
the flavor was very nice together....I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I wish I had never made this pie. I can't resist eating it and my family will not let me make something different instead of this recipe for the special holidays. I like changing things up from time to time. If you have dark chocolate lovers, beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is the best pecan pie recipe on earth!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving. The chocolate and bourbon was much, and the pie filling itself was custardy, and I didn't care for it. Not the usual type of pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Hayes Stutts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very tasty recipe. I altered it to use (1) a deep-dish 9" pie shell, (2) 2.5 ounces of Jack Daniels, (3) 4 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate melted and spread on the bottom of the pie shell (which I put back in the freezer) to create a bottom layer separate from the very delicious vanilla-bourbon-corn syrup-sugar-eggs filling, and (4) more pecans. Our guests loved it. My suggestion is that the pie not be served warm because the filling won't fully congeal until it has been in the refrigerator for a while. I have some extra filling. Where did I put those mini-pie shells?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REOlsen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Doubled recipe for two pies. Made perfect amount. Used Kahlua instead of bourbon. Spread 3 oz of semi sweet chips on the bottoms of the crusts, filled and baked. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Loved this! It did make a lot of filling, even for my deep dish crust, so I might cut down a bit on the sugar, corn syrup, & butter. I altered the recipe slightly by using 1/2 white sugar & 1/2 brown sugar & adding 1 tsp maple extract along with the bourbon. I loved the rich, smoky flavor from the bourbon w/ the maple & the decadent taste of the chocolate & pecans! This is my favorite pecan pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States