Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Megan Holder
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Turned out lovely. It only took 45 minutes to bake. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Holder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Good flavor but didn't bake up as much as I had hoped it would. I used a standard pie plate with homemade crust but it came out flat and barely made it 1/3 the way up the sides. I replaced half the corn syrup with equal parts honey and pure maple syrup. I also decreased the bourbon to 1 1/2 tablespoons and omitted the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
My advice for those who have commented negatively on the "overwhelming" bourbon or chocolate flavors, fix a plain pecan pie! This pie is wonderful and perfectly blends the flavors of the bourbon, chocolate and pecans...hence the name. I'm a Kentucky gal, and we do love our bourbon. In fact, there's no such thing as too much bourbon flavoring, so I add a bit more than the recipe calls for. (Make sure it's Kentucky bourbon or it's not the real thing!) My friends and family request this pie often. It's PERFECT! It does make 2 9-inch pies or 1 deep dish 9-inch pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I've been making a modified version of this for years. Had to tweak it to get it just right for me. If I add the chocolate it's 1/4 cup (and I subtract 1/4 cup sugar). Use dark syrup and swap out a dash of molasses. My pan is deep dish and it is filled up so I'm sure a regular pan would be a tight fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This recipe was ok and easy to make. I followed it exactly with the exception of putting the chocolate chips on the crust and I used a few more pecans than called for. My husband and his friend (both bourbon lovers) really liked this which is why I gave this four stars vs three. Being from Georgia and a pecan pie purist, I wouldn't make this again as written. I think i may try adding the bourbon to my standard pecan pie recipe because I think the guys really liked the addition. The chocolate and kind of "custardy" filling of this recipe just didn't work for me though and is not worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Good recipe. I liked it but those who don't like chocolate didn't. I did take someone's advice on here and just put the chocolate chips along the crust so it wasn't a big chocolate glob. Going to deliver this pie to my dad tonight and that's the real test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
What a mess. I hate when people 4- and 5-star a recipe that they have changed a lot in order to make it work. I should have know better. Yes it tasted OK, but there was enough to two pies. Had to make up another shell. The light corn syrup was too much too and the white sugar…like others posted. I thought the bourbon was just fine though--not overwhelming at all, but it did move across two pies. Either read a lot of the comments or have two shells ready before you make this. Or, use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
It's very sweet and rich. It definitely has the texture of pecan pie but it tastes mostly like chocolate. I was afraid of the alcohol taste that some people reported so I halved the bourbon. But, it must have cooked the alcohol off because I didn't taste it. If you're looking for pecan pie this might not satisfy you, it's more of a chocolate pie. But served over ice cream it's delicious anyway. It made two shorter pies for me I might have been able to squeeze most of it into one deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year. Amazing! Super popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Excellent as is, and stupendous when you make alterations to fit your own taste preferences! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States