Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Easy recipe with great results! I followed other suggestions: a bit less sugar, used 2 pie shells, spread chocolate chips out over the bottom. I also added the zest of 1 orange. Everyone at our Thanksgiving dinner enjoyed this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
very tasty. Reduced sugar to 2/3 cup and left out the bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I added a big handful of flaked coconut, which acted as sort of a sponge to sop up some of the excess liquid...and made it even more delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe and had enough "liquid" mixture for 3 deep dish pie crusts. I, like others, put the chocolate chips and pecans right in the crusts, then pour the liquid over the top - this ensures nuts and chocolate in every piece. I got lazy this time and left the pecan halves whole; the pie was prettier, but a little harder to cut. This pie has come to be known in our family as "crack pie," because it is so good you crave it, and I wouldn't dare have a family holiday without it or my in-laws would chase me with pitchforks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a terrific pie! I have made for several years now using different liquor for a twist. Last year it was kahlua, this year rum. FANTASTIC anyway you make it and requested by all our family and friends. Chocolate chips turn out better when you place them on the bottom of pie crust as others have commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I followed the suggestion of someone else and just spread the chocolate chips in the bottom of the crust. I found the chocolate to be too overwhelming and I couldn't taste the rest of the pie. I will definitely make it again, but I think I will leave out the chocolate....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kadenjoey143
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
we LOVE this pie! I am not a big fan of nutty desserts, but this one will stay in my recipe drawer forever!! For three years in a row around the holidays my family and classmates ask for this yummy pie, even those who are adamant they do not like pecan pie love this pie! I do make a few small changes, using a portion of the 6 oz of choc chips I line the pie crust with the choc chips before pouring in the filling, which creates a thin layer of chocolate over the crust when the pie sets. Also, I use Kahlua mudslide instead of bourbon. The first year I did half bourbon and half kahlua, which was good, but I prefer the full kahlua. Caution, the recipe will produce more filling than will fit in one 9" deep dish pie crust, so keep an extra crust on hand, trust me, it wont go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This pie is delicious! I had to leave the bourbon out because I was out, but it had that chocolate kick that I needed! I have made this one at least 4 times now and love it more and more each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was fantastic, thanks for sharing! I spread the melted chocolate across the bottom crust too and I'm glad I did...every bite had a nice hit of chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Just Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lace
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This pie was delicious!! I left out the bourbon since I made it for a church function. I also followed other reviewers' suggestion and added 2-3 oz chocolate chips as a bottom layer instead of inside the batter. It fit perfectly in a deep dish pie plate and baked beautifully on the 2nd to lowest rack without burning the top or bottom. Next time, I will make a homemade crust using the "Irresistible Pecan Pie" recipe since it is better than the frozen type. Can't wait to make again and try the bourbon version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States