Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
AMAZING!! I followed the advice of a few previous reviewers and used Kahlua instead of bourbon and it was unbelievable! I will definitely be making these again-in fact I am making two for Christmas-and though I doubt there will be, I am really hoping there is some left over for me to bring home :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Amazing EXACTLY as written. I used Evan Williams Tenn Wiskey and had an amazing, not overly potent, flavor. I brushed the crust with egg white with ten minutes to go and came out beautiful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made it just as written and it was great- I think with any less bourbon it would lose some of it's punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Delicious! I followed other reviewers suggestions and used just 3/4 c. sugar and 2 tblsp of bourbon. I also put enough chocolate chips at the bottom of the pie crust just to cover it and that was perfect! I can't wait to make this pie again! Divinve!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I've made this pie for Thanksgiving and Christmas for three years now. It's a favorite in our family. I've used both bourbon and whiskey. I often mix dark and milk chocolate chips. The recipe is great as written - the only variation depends on the type of alcohol. Strong whiskeys and bourbons (like Jack Daniels) need to be cut back to 3 tbls. Smoother, lighter alcohol (like Gentleman Jack) as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
First time making a pecan pie with chocolate in it. It turned out very good although rather rich. I followed advice of others and added chocolate chips to pie crust the poured in pecan mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great dessert for Thanksgiving...on the rich side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I've made this twice and the 2nd time I used 1 C DARK chocolate chips. EVeryone loved it. Also, it is critical to follow step 2 exactly. If the sugar is not completely melted you will get a gritty filling. Also might try using baker's sugar....finer and will melt faster. And this amount nicely filled a 9" crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Tesson Curtis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Tried this out for Thanksgiving this year...It was a hit everyone loved it. I followed the tips that said 2 tbsp of bourbon, 1/2 cup chocolate chips, 3/4 cup of sugar. Easy to make and try making your own crust I did and I will diffentlly make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States