Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is deliciously decadent, with just the right amount of chocolate and bourbon and it is very easy to make. I usually make one for Thanksgiving. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Somehow I failed with this one, but I followed the recipe exactly. I think it made too much filling for my pie crusts. It seems like it boiled out of them in the oven because all of the filling ended up caked on the sides of my pie pan but the crusts themselves were empty. We still picked at it, but it was very bourbon-y for our taste. Will try again with some modifications (and maybe more baking experience) and figure out what went wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This pie is hit or miss depending on your guests tastes. I used about 3/4 the amount of bourbon the recipe called for and to me the bourbon taste was overpowering. Other guests loved it and thought it was the perfect ratio. Everyone thought the addition of chocolate was great (I put it on the bottom of the crust as most reviews suggested and I would also recommend that). Next time I will make this pie as is except omitting the bourbon and I think it will be just perfect, or the kahlua suggestion others mentioned sounds yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
i made this for christmas...you should too! my gater's boyfriend almost ate the whole thing before i realized that joker was on it. i didn't change a thing. terrific stuff! IT WILL BECOME A HOLIDAY TRADITION thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
not a good pie, don't make it. taste like pure liquor. 1 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Like Jay in Tennessee, I did push my Grandmother down the stairs for the last piece of this pie! Two good things came out of this. The pie was the best hit ever this holiday season, and Grandma's new hips are better than the original! She ended up thanking me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powerbar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I've been using this recipe since 2002. It always comes out perfect and everyone loves it. Just remember not to double it, pre-cook your pie shell for a carmelized effect, beat the eggs until just barely frothy, and always wrap your crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This pie was amazing! I doubled the recipe because I needed 2 pies for a work pot luck. I used Makers Mark which really made the flavors wake up, and I poured a 12 oz bag of Toll House semi sweet chips into my melted butter mixture. I have had Chocolate Pecan Pie disasters in the past. I find that this doesn't leave you with the hit or miss of flavor thing that has plagued my pies in the past. I used jumbo eggs which has always been a preference. I did end up making an extra pie crust and had 3 pies! I am so glad that I did too! This pie was the hit of the pot luck and I now have everyone convinced that I am quite the Gourmand! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
decided to try something new this year instead of a pecan pie. this turned out to be the best pecan pie i have ever had, so delectable! all my friends loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
loved this- only change was to put a single layer of choc chips in the crust before the filling. my husband thought the bourbon was a little powerful, but I didn't. the second time I made this I halved the bourbon and he still complained and I didn't think it was strong enough. A matter of personal taste. Next pie gets the full amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States