Chocolate Black Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Wonderful! A MUST try!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Not the best and would not make again. It was very dry, and as I read before, tasted a lot like flour. I think if I made it again I could make it taste better but it would need too many modifications - I would probably sub the tea for the same amount of buttermilk which would give it a nice flavor and much needed moisture, for a better chocolate flavor I would add melted chocolate or as someone else did, chocolate chips. It didn't need near the amount of baking time it called for. I baked it for 50min and it could have even gone less. So in the long run with the amount of changes it would be an entirely different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
A way to cut back on oil or butter could be to add applesauce to the mix. I've done that a lot with boxed cake mixes...you could probably even cut back on the sugar if you use the applesauce, but that doesn't seem to be much of an issue per the other reviews. (Applesauce will also help keep this cake nice an moist.) I think any nuts would work with this recipe, be they almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, etc. (Love, love, love chocolate + nuts!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LostCoastGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This cake was fantastic!!! I used a black chai tea to enhance the flavors & put some mixed fruit on top. Made it for an award ceremony; It was gone in the blink of an eye!!!! Everybody loved it & i thought it was very easy to make. My friends even asked me to make some more for them! Definitely doing it again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Excellent tasting,very moist in the middle. I also made a chocolate glaze for in 2 cups of icing sugar half a cup of cocoa powder and 6 tablespoons of water, wisk until ready, spread all over cake the refrigerate. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I CANNOT bake at all but I've just successfully made this cake. I'm so proud of myself. I tried using Earl Grey Tea like one reviewer suggested and it gave the cake such a lovely, subtle taste. 5 stars for how easy it is to make and 5 stars for taste *edit* This cake still tastes great ad doesn't dry out even after 4 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was great. I didn't have hazelnuts, or I think it would have been even better. I used a 10cup williams-sonoma sunflower bundt pan and it almost overflowed. I think a 9 cup pan (as the recipe calls for) would not be enough. First time I baked with tea, got rave reviews from the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I am a pretty good baker, was intrigued by this recipe and the good reviews. And-----there is always the possibility that I messed up--!! I was careful to take it out on time, mine was not dry, just dull. It was fun, though, making something unusual always is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyssa
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Only one word I can say "Fabulous". This recipe was very easy to make for inexperienced cook like me. But the taste was just perfect. I did several changes due to what I had in my kitchen such as self-rising flour, sweetened cocoa powder, and my favorite strong tea. I skipped the hazelnuts and put a bit less sugar. Also, I sprigkeled it with cocoa powder instead of confectioner's sugar cause I didn't have it -__-. Many thanks for the real good and simple cake recipe. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Sounds delicious but very high in fat. So I'll rate this 3 stars. I try to use healthy substitutions for butter and eggs, but not always successfully. I wish this website would do this for us (who wants to waste all these good ingredients on a failure?). But I can't understand why a cake that has a full cup of butter would be dry. Would using oil for some of the butter help? I'm reluctant to try it. Any advice or suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free fall chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States