Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Loved these, though the dough is sticky and hard to work with. Mine spread during baking. I only let them cool 5-10 minutes before cutting..using a pizza cutter as another reviewer recommended (though I didn't add nuts..that might add a different dynamic to how/when you go about cutting them) In the end mine were tasty an rock hard - just what I was looking for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Because this dough was so sticky I found it was easiest to work w/ when you keep a bowl of water next to you to wet your hands with while you handle it. I combined the dry ingredients first and then mixed in the wet ingredients last & my dough didn't spread out like other reviewers mentioned... it held its shape just fine. I did take it out of the oven after about 20 minutes to cut it and mine didn't crumble on me, but it think if I had left it in for the whole 30 minutes the edges would have started to crumble when cut. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cups instead of 2 and it was plenty sweet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was a great recipe to work with. i didn't have quite all the ingredients, i used almond extract instead of vanilla and skipped the slivered almonds. these were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I've made lots of biscotti and theseare by far the hardest to bite into. Very crunchy and not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Really good biscotti. I left out the almonds for a plain batch and did some different candy quick dips. Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I just made this recipe. I substituted in pecans because I had no almonds. They turned out tasty, except the dough was hard to manage and when I went to cut the loaves, they completely crumbled. Not sure what I did wrong. But they were good and I might make them again if I remember to buy almonds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
These lacked flavor. I would suggest using sweetened coco powder instead of unsweetened. The taste was slightly bitter. These burn easily so watch them carefully. Try cutting them while they're still hot with a pizza cutter. But honestly, I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
My first try at biscotti and turned out great. I left out the almonds and just coated biscotti with a little powdered sugar. Can't wait til morning coffee and homemade biscotti...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I had a hard time mixing the ingredients (it was so dry!) so I added a little milk. I also didn't have vanilla (which could explain the dryness :/) but it was still a delicious recipe! And pretty easy--just make sure you have time to make them. Oh yeah, and I used the Hershey's special dark cocoa--delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made these last night to give as Christmas gifts. The only change I made was to add a handful of mini chocolate chips to the batter. They turned out FANTASTIC. My husband says they taste just like brownies. I've never made biscotti before and consider myself an average baker and found this recipe to be very simple. The dough was a bit sticky to work with, but well worth the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States