Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This recipe is way too tricky. Perhaps it is good for experienced bakers, but the instructions are misleading. The dough was so dry and powdery that I had to add 1 tbsp of water and 2 tbsp of heavy cream to get it all to mix. I had also wanted to add chocolate chips and crushed cashews for a more flavorful biscotti, but after seeing how complicated the batch came out, I'm saving them for a different recipe. I had also used latex gloves because my skin is sensitive to everything. I coated my gloves with flour as recommended by other reviewers, but that didn't do the trick. I scraped whatever dough I could off the gloves, then had to throw them out. I wetted my hands and continued to knead. That seemed to work better in preventing the dough from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Hugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
1st time making biscotti & it was fantastic according to my husband. I'm not a dunker. Glad that I read the reviews & had wet hands when working with the dough Turned out well!!! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe didn't even come close to making 4 dozen. I'm curious as to how many others are getting out of this recipe. Otherwise, easy to make, especially when using a kitchen aid mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula DiBacco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I also had the too much spreading issue - tried it with the nonstick spray and it spread 8" wide and so I tried putting it on parchment and while it was fine when I put it in the oven by the time I took it out it was only 1/2 high and close to 6" wide. Totally unusable. No idea what the problem was because I followed the recipe to the letter. Really wanted to like this because love biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was so easy that any home cook can bake this! I sprayed cooking pray (PAM) on my hands in order to prevent the dough sticking to my hands. To make it extra special, I drizzled chocolate ganache on half of the biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
this is the worst recipe I ever worked with...and I have baked plenty of biscotti before...sorry...will not suggest to use this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This is the worst recipe I've ever baked - it was horrible -- I've made regular anisette biscotti all my life and never had them turn out bad one time - but this was a disaster - waste of 5 eggs and other supplies never again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I like to make biscotti to give as gifts at Christmas but I can never remember which allrecipe I used from year to year. This one yielded great results but the dough was a serious sticky pain in the arse to work with; I don't remember having that problem in the past. I'd give it 5 stars if there were a way to do it that didn't involve ending up with chocolate Hulk Hands and rinsing half the dough down the sink because you can't get it off your hands! Delicious biscotti, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
very good I didn't have Almonds so I used roasted peanuts still it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
My wife and I like them. I made them once exactly as listed and they were wonderful. The lack of oil in the recipe appealed to me for storage. The second time I made them I used egg whites (like egg beaters) for three of the five eggs. We couldn't tell the difference. Next time, maybe for all the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States