Chocolate Billionaires Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
amazing that one can take a cheap brach caramel and turn it into something that tastes like a million bucks! These were a snap to prepare. Used parchment paper sprayed and I did not have the sticking problem at all. they came off in one piece with not so much as a smear left on the paper. Used a metal cookie scoop to diminish the sticky finger syndrome. Popped them in the fridge which made the dipping easier; the chocolate immediately set to the candy. I can't think of a better nut to use than the pecan; this complimented the caramel perfectly. thanks for this super easy recipe that presents well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
At my first attempt, I cut the recipe in half just to try it out, and it's a good thing I did! Mistake #1, I used wax paper to set the hot caramel onto. (trying to save space in my fridge) And the caramel was barely salvagable since I had to saw it off the paper. Which was my fault, I should have paid more attn to the directions. Mistake #2, was when I melted the chocolate chips in a small sauce pan over low heat. I hate my electric stove for this reason. I never can tell how low, the low setting really is. I burned the chocolate in less than a minute. I learned how quickly you can make smooth chocolate look like fudge and there was no turning back. So, the next time I attempted this recipe everything went perfectly! I used a pam sprayed cookie sheet to set the hot caramel in the fridge. I then placed a small pyrex mixing bowl over a medium pot of heated water (on the lowest setting). The chocolate stayed smooth until I was done dipping. The dipping is the tricky part. I used my fingers more than anything, and the chocolate was hot! I had tried tooth picks but that was too tricky. Some other things I'd mention is that once cold, the caramel can be tough to remove from the baking sheet, but a butter knife and some pressure works fine. Oh, and I used cocoa crispies since it was what I had on hand, and pulsed my pecan pcs in my small food processor just to make finer chunks and a nuttier taste in every bite. Since I was giving these out with other baked goods, I individually
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These are delicious! They were a big hit and went FAST! My only suggestion would be to make sure you really grease the wax paper because they really stick! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
These were very good. Can't have just one! The first step is very sticky, so be sure to use the wax paper. I sprayed everything (spatula etc) with Pam. People are surprised that only few items are needed to get such a great candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I think of all the different cookie recipes I made this year, this was BY FAR the favorite of those who ate them... and to think they were probably the easiest of all to make! Taking the advice of other reviewers, I used parchment paper lightly sprayed with Pam to prevent sticking. Rather than dipping the entire cookie in chocolate, I dipped only the bottoms and then put a small dollop of chocolate in the centers on top. This made them rather eye-catching, in my opinion, and made them a heck of a lot easier AND cleaner to handle and store. Plus, the chocolate didn't overwhelm the caramel that way. Simply put, these are easy and fantastic and will be a staple in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mc Coy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These are absolutely outstanding. I thought they would be too sweet and rich but they are surprisingly addictive. Its like eating a mini candy bar. They sure went fast in my house. It was definitely worth the time and effort, and I will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My Mother made this for years every Christmas and when she passed away I found her recipe. She made it without the cereal. She also put the carmel mixture in the freezer for a couple of hours and it pops off the pan much easier and makes it easier to handle in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wshayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin229
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These are delicious! Like a wonderful cross between turtles and 100 Grand (two of my favs!) The only change I made to the recipe itself was to use 2 cups milk chocolate chips and 1 cup semi-sweet, because that's what I had. As far as following directions - I've burned stuff on my electric stove before, so I melted everything in a makeshift double-boiler. (Honestly, where would I be in life without my Pyrex bowls?!) Caramels took a little longer to melt this way I think, but it was WORTH IT. (Besides, I had already spent 2 hours shelling my own pecans - I was already invested! At that point, what's an extra few minutes?) Word of advice - be generous when greasing the waxed paper, if that's what you're using! One sheet turned out fine, one sheet stuck to the caramels (it's just a little extra fiber, right?) Next time I might try the silicon baking sheets I always forget I have... Did NOT get 32 tasty treats - I used my mixing spoon instead of a teaspoon to drop the caramels and they ended up HUGE! But they're so yummy that no one cared! Next time I will try to make them smaller, though - they looked a little overwhelming this time. Took them to the Academy Awards party and my friends raved about them! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin229
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Holy cow. I added a teaspoon of instant coffee to the caramel before I added the nuts and rice, and I may have to make a batch for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I felt it could've used less nuts and more cereal with more amounts as well, it was still pretty caramel-y. Tasty little treats though. I didn't bother with the fridge step, by the time I dropped them on the sheet then went back to roll them they were already cooled. I used confectioner's coating instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States