Chocolate Billionaires Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I felt it could've used less nuts and more cereal with more amounts as well, it was still pretty caramel-y. Tasty little treats though. I didn't bother with the fridge step, by the time I dropped them on the sheet then went back to roll them they were already cooled. I used confectioner's coating instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
made for work and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Awesome like a turtle with rice krispies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made these at a cookie baking get together with friends. They were easy to make. I followed others suggestions and sprayed Pam cooking spray on everything. I didn't let the candies set enough after covering in chocolate and they melted into each other a little. I didn't care for the flavor of the candy after I dipped into milk chocolate. I have an extreme sweet tooth and they didn't taste as sweet with the chocolate. I'll try to make without dipping or try another type of coating for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Yum! I wanted to try something new for my gifts of "Christmas Goodies" that I'll give away this year, and these did not disappoint. I gave most it away at the Senior Center where I do volunteer work and they loved them. Then again, they always love it when I experiment in the kitchen and let them be my taste testers, haha. I used a small scoop sprayed with Pam to drop the candy. Last year I bought a Wilton candy fork to dip candy into chocolate with and it makes the job so much easier. I used my double boiler to melt the chocolate and was able to let the chocolate sit over the hot water while dipping the candy making it all so much easier. Thanks June
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mommyto3
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Wow... these are fantastic! Like a turtle but w/ rice krispies in them too. I miss read and did 1 1/2 C. Rice kripies and 1 C. Chopped nuts (pulsed in food processor to make the same size as the cereal). I added 1 TBSP extra of water b/c it is so dry where I live (desert). I used 2 spoons sprayed w/ cooking spray and used them to scoop onto my 2 silpats. I had to respray the spoons once b/c the mixture started to stick to them. Let them cool for 2 hrs and melted the chocolate by dbl boiler method. I used a spoon and fork to help flip and coat the caramel candies, then put them back on the silpat. I let them sit covered w/ plastic wrap over night and removed them. Easier to remove if you place in the freezer for about an hour before taking them off. Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Shipped these cross-country to my boyfriend for his birthday. Absolutely delicious, and super easy to make! To keep them from sticking during shipping (they soften a bit at room temperature) I placed them in individual cupcake liners and then in a tupperware container. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Not what I was looking for, but they are tasty. Ended up being quite a bit of work because I could not get them off the greased non stick waxed paper! Looked online and there was a suggestion to put a cookie sheet in the oven at 175, when heated, set the waxed paper with the billionaires on top of the heated cookie sheet. That softened enough to remove them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My Mother made this for years every Christmas and when she passed away I found her recipe. She made it without the cereal. She also put the carmel mixture in the freezer for a couple of hours and it pops off the pan much easier and makes it easier to handle in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wshayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin229
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These are delicious! Like a wonderful cross between turtles and 100 Grand (two of my favs!) The only change I made to the recipe itself was to use 2 cups milk chocolate chips and 1 cup semi-sweet, because that's what I had. As far as following directions - I've burned stuff on my electric stove before, so I melted everything in a makeshift double-boiler. (Honestly, where would I be in life without my Pyrex bowls?!) Caramels took a little longer to melt this way I think, but it was WORTH IT. (Besides, I had already spent 2 hours shelling my own pecans - I was already invested! At that point, what's an extra few minutes?) Word of advice - be generous when greasing the waxed paper, if that's what you're using! One sheet turned out fine, one sheet stuck to the caramels (it's just a little extra fiber, right?) Next time I might try the silicon baking sheets I always forget I have... Did NOT get 32 tasty treats - I used my mixing spoon instead of a teaspoon to drop the caramels and they ended up HUGE! But they're so yummy that no one cared! Next time I will try to make them smaller, though - they looked a little overwhelming this time. Took them to the Academy Awards party and my friends raved about them! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin229
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States