Chocolate Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This has been a family favorite for years - so simple and so delicious! I love that can make a day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
great cake! in between the layers (before i layered the whip cream mixture) i drizzled condensed milk. it made the cake extra delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberdgreen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I loved this cake and it was fun to make but the icing was not totally cooperative. I used a dark chocolate cake mix ( with the pudding in the mix) and it was very moist and rich. tasted great with the icing. everyone loved it! next time I will try using a little less whipping cream and a little more cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan Shamasko
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this in a loaf pan, and the middle layer I put coconut pecan icing, the other layers were the cream cheese/whipped cream, it was easy to assemble and slice, was very appealing looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This recipe is simple and elegant and tasty. Made cake for Valentine's Day. Placed 3 large chocolate dipped strawberries on top and all around the base of cake. Wonderful presentation. Actually pretty enough to place on magazine cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hermon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Made this exactly as recipe calls for many times. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snickers9584

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Marvelous recipe. My mother gave me this recipe along with another (saltine craker pie), many years ago, to enter into a cooking contest at work. I made this and another recipe. I do not cook/eat many desserts but wanted to try something new. Mine looked hidious. I took it anyway. Smelled delicious. I won first place with the pie! I called my mother about the cake and told her that the icing just ran out the sides. I just kept pilling it back on top until it absorbed into the cake. I had NEVER used whipping cream before and she forgot to tell me to whip it first! Needless to it did not place - but every little crumb of that cake was eaten by the judges and they said it was the moistest cake they had ever eaten! I did get honerable mention though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
One of my favorite cake recipes. For really special occasions, I make a dark chocolate cake from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissy Nour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very easy to make. Whipped icing was the perfect amount of sweetness. My husband loved it. It is inexpensive and easy to make, which make it a great option for bringing to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
The flavor for this was a little flat for me. Maybe if I had used a dark chocolate cake mix instead of devils food flavor it would have been better. I served with chocolate syrup and raspberry syrup which really improved the flavor. Very easy to make and that is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States