Chocolate Bar Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I made this for my son-in-law, and he ate 2 pieces. It is very, very good. I did add some candy kisses, about 1/2 cup, just because I had them left over from something else. Made it the perfect chocolate taste. Next time I may make my own graham cracker crust, just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This is my favorite chocolate cream pie ! I have been making this for years and was glad to see it listed on all recipes. If you haven't tried this pie, you are missing out ! It's fantastic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is a great recipe! I followed the recipe completely the first time I made it. After that, I added more marshmallows because the family/boyfriend likes it better with more marshmallows. Also tried using dark chocolate bars instead of milk chocolate, and soy milk instead of regular milk/whipping cream (I am lactose intolerant) and it still came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I made this for Easter and it was a big hit with our guests. The filling reminded me of a tasty chocolate mousse. I thought it was easy to put together also. I used a purchased graham cracker crust because I was making several other desserts but next time I will make a homemade crust. It's really so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cndysc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I loved this pie. I made it for Thanksgiving this year. The only thing I did wrong was not watch when pouring it in the pie pan. It made more than my pie crust could hold. It didn't look that pretty due to this goof up, but otherwise it tasted fantastic!!! I will watch next time to make it look as good as it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Corryton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was surprisingly delicious and a big hit with my family. I had a bunch of marshmallows to use up and we were smored out, this fit the bill perfectly. I made my own crust and melted the chocolate differently then directed, I melted the marshmallows in the milk then removed the pot from the heat, added the chopped chocolate and stirred until melted and smooth, then folded in whipped cream as directed. I froze mine due to lack of fridge space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is one of my all time favorite pies, and I'm glad to see it on Allrecipes.com. Over the years I have taken it to many functions and always receive requests for the recipe. It is easy to prepare and sets up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobridge, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Great Recipe - my husbands favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Everyone loved the pie. I would give it a 5 but it didn't set very well even when I left it in the freezer for a while. I am not American and don't love Hersheys so out of everyone I probably enjoyed it the least but everyone else LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolette
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Growing up, whenever a chocolate pie was requested, it always meant my mother's chocolate mousse pie, made with *gasp* raw eggs ; ) That was the standard. There was no straying. Period. So being the rebel I am, I felt it time for a change. This pie is almost too easy (and I even made my own graham crust); it is also quite sweet (and I even used dark, not milk, chocolate). But the crew (plus various strays) didn't seem to mind... the pie was gone within a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States