Chocolate Bar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This pie is delicious! I made it with an oreo crust and it tasted great! My only advice is to make sure to let the chocolate mixture cool like the recipe calls for. I didn't let it cool enough and it melted the cream and it took over 24 hours for the pie to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I even used some cool whip instead of whipping cream. It really is better if you chill it overnight though. It took a long time to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Delicious! And very easy. I made mine with regular chocolate bars without the almonds out of personal preference. It is rich yet not heavy. Great with a mound of freshly whipped cream on top and a few chocolate curls. Good frozen too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This was excellent! It tasted just like a Hershey bar. You can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is the best pie I've ever had! We call it Smores pie. I've made it at least 10 times since I found the recipe and everyone loves it! (with and without the almonds) When I make it with almonds, I chop them up into little pieces. Thanks for the sweeeet recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Absolutely YUMMY!!! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit! I love Hershey's Symphony milk chocolate so that is what I used. I put in 1 huge 6.8ou bar and another almost half of another one. I used good ol' cool whip instead of the cream and it was just right! I also added small pieces of Heath bar it was great!!! A+++++ and the prep time A+ too way fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate lover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Wonderful pie-I always put a layer of cool whip on top of the chocolate filling, then sprinkle chocolate curls over it. I make this sometimes with plain chocolate bars instead of the almond. Either way its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I make this with a crushed pecan crust instead, you just put pecans in the food processer then mix with melted butter and press into the pie pan, bake it for 10 minutes at 350. I also use less candy bars and more cream so it doesn't come out to rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This wasn't too time-consuming to make, considering it is a pie after all, but the results are very yummy. I didn't feel it had that "wow" factor, though. Perhaps some topping like others have suggested, but I almost think this is on the verge of being too rich and would be afraid to add anything else to it. Overall, this is tasty and not too expensive. I will probably make it again but not when I'm aiming to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I have literally made hundreds of recipes from this site and this is by far my favorite. This pie is OUTSTANDING!!! I followed the recipe to a "T" using chocolate bars w/o the almonds and made the graham cracker crust from scratch (so easy and worth it)--to die for! Please make this and enjoy it as much as we did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States