Chocolate Bar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This pie is delicious! I made it with an oreo crust and it tasted great! My only advice is to make sure to let the chocolate mixture cool like the recipe calls for. I didn't let it cool enough and it melted the cream and it took over 24 hours for the pie to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I even used some cool whip instead of whipping cream. It really is better if you chill it overnight though. It took a long time to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Delicious! And very easy. I made mine with regular chocolate bars without the almonds out of personal preference. It is rich yet not heavy. Great with a mound of freshly whipped cream on top and a few chocolate curls. Good frozen too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This was excellent! It tasted just like a Hershey bar. You can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is the best pie I've ever had! We call it Smores pie. I've made it at least 10 times since I found the recipe and everyone loves it! (with and without the almonds) When I make it with almonds, I chop them up into little pieces. Thanks for the sweeeet recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Wonderful pie-I always put a layer of cool whip on top of the chocolate filling, then sprinkle chocolate curls over it. I make this sometimes with plain chocolate bars instead of the almond. Either way its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Absolutely YUMMY!!! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit! I love Hershey's Symphony milk chocolate so that is what I used. I put in 1 huge 6.8ou bar and another almost half of another one. I used good ol' cool whip instead of the cream and it was just right! I also added small pieces of Heath bar it was great!!! A+++++ and the prep time A+ too way fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate lover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I make this with a crushed pecan crust instead, you just put pecans in the food processer then mix with melted butter and press into the pie pan, bake it for 10 minutes at 350. I also use less candy bars and more cream so it doesn't come out to rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This wasn't too time-consuming to make, considering it is a pie after all, but the results are very yummy. I didn't feel it had that "wow" factor, though. Perhaps some topping like others have suggested, but I almost think this is on the verge of being too rich and would be afraid to add anything else to it. Overall, this is tasty and not too expensive. I will probably make it again but not when I'm aiming to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I have literally made hundreds of recipes from this site and this is by far my favorite. This pie is OUTSTANDING!!! I followed the recipe to a "T" using chocolate bars w/o the almonds and made the graham cracker crust from scratch (so easy and worth it)--to die for! Please make this and enjoy it as much as we did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States