Chocolate Bar Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This is a great fondue with 1/3 freshly brewed coffee or cappuchino instead of the instant powder and water. A tip for the leftovers (because everyone else was right, this does make a lot!)... This recipie is essentialy a truffle recipie. Let the leftovers cool and then refrigerate. Round out small balls and roll in cocoa powder, powdered sugar or toadsted coconut. All of a sudden you have a new, gormet desert you can serve all over again and impress the crowds! Truffles also make great gifts when wrapped nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I am 12 and I made this fondue by myself. Oranges, strawberries, pound cake, pineapple, apple, bananas, and marshmallows work best for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
The need to entertain spur-of-the moment guests led me to this wonderful dessert recipe. Soooo simple and quick. I don't own a fondue pot, so I made it in a double boiler (without the water) and transferred it to a pretty chafing dish. This was so delicious, Sara. My company thoroughly enjoyed it with a variety of fresh fruit and pound cake. Try the Apricot Brandy Pound Cake (quick version made with Yellow cake mix) from this site. It freezes well and can be cut into cubes easily. I also had some chocolate pound cake from this site in the freezer. I had some 5 inch bamboo skewers left from another recipe that I gave each guest. They were happily threading the skewers with a variety of items, and wondering when I had had the time to prepare such a luscious dessert. They said the fondue was as good if not better than that at a local fondue restaurant. I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
We LOVE this recipe! I used 2 packages of milk chocolate chips on one bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips. I also followed the suggestions of ommitting the water. The results were OUTSTANDING! I had enough left over from a playdate to take to a bbq the same evening. I rewarmed the chocolate and added a little more milk to even it out. EVEN BETTER! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Great fondue recipe! Try skewering a combo of raspberries and sponge cake together before dipping. Bananas, marshmallows, or strawberries were great too. But, even after a party, I had at least 1 1/2 cups of chocolate left over. So, here's my idea for WHAT TO DO WITH THE LEFTOVER CHOCOLATE: reheat in the microwave, until melted; stir in walnuts. I used about 1 cup, but you can adjust it to your preference. Spray a rectangular glass pan (mine is a 6x9") with Pam, or line with wax paper, then pour the mix in. Layer tiny marshmallows, cut-up leftover marshmallows, or mashmallow fluff over the top. Cool, then refridgerate until relatively solid (overnight). Cut into squares, wrap individually with clear plastic wrap and VOILA! Homemade Rocky Road Fudge. It will be soft at room temp, so you might want to keep the fudge in the fridge or freezer. Makes a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This was great. I also used the best chocolate that I could find (Ghiradelli) and reduced the coffee a bit...didn't want it to be too strong because the main eaters would be kids. It was great....Will make this many more times. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Easy and very delicious. Used milk chocolate chips intead of grating the chocolate. I made this for a potluck at work and everyone loved it. (I didn't put the coffee in either) I warmed it up in the microwave and it stayed warm and perfect for an hour and a half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Fantastic recipe! Instead of using the coffee, I used a shot of Bailey's. It was excellent! I also added crushed Oreo cookies to the chocolate mixture (about 4 cookies crushed). We dipped pineapple, banana, apple, Oreos and large marshmallows covered in Oreo crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This was amazing! It did make a ton and we have lots left over. We dipped some pound cake and strawberries and also apples and marshmellows. The marshmellows went really fast and everyone was surprised that they liked that one so much! I used really good chocolate too so I think that helped. I used Ghiradelli's milk chocolate and a package of the double chocolate too. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I left out the water and that seems to have taken care of the thiness that others who rated complained of. Delicious and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States