Chocolate Bar Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used chocolate chips, omitted the water and added 1/2 shot of espresso instead of the instant coffee. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This recipe was great. I also did chocolate chips instead of grating and omitted the coffee. Half the recipe was enough for 6 people. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Used the leftovers for chocolate covered pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
LOVED IT!!! The only change was what another user (NEWLYWEDS1) suggested - I replaced the instant coffee with 1/3 cup of strong coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made this for New Year's Eve and it was fantastic! I made the entire thing in my slow cooker. Everything melted just fine and had a nice creamy consistency. I did omit the sugar as it was already sweet enough. We used pretzels, pound cake, oreos, strawberries and bananas for dipping. This recipe does make a huge amount so keep that in mind. We had a good bit left over but it does make a great ice cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
As a fondue, I'd have to say that I wasn't overly impressed - which is why I rated it a 3. It was good, but nothing spectacular. However, I noted that many other reviewers made truffles with the leftovers and I have to say, that as a truffle center - this was absolutely AMAZING! I rolled them into 1-inch balls, froze them for an hour or so then made a coating (16 oz chocolate chips & 3 tbls shortening, melted) to dip them in. Everyone LOVED them - even a co-worker who isn't really into sweets raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I made a half batch of this recipe and eliminated the water. I used half a bag of dark chocolate chips and 1/2 bag of semi sweet chips. Kids and adults enjoyed it and the chocolate coated various fruits, marshmallows and pretzels nicely. Great flavor! I put the excess in a glass dish and topped it with nuts and heath brittle and put it in the fridge. Once it cooled it was like a cross between a chocolate bar and fudge and every bit as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Wow.... will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I usually don't review recipes if I don't make them exactly as written, but I feel that this one deserves a shout-out. I didn't add the coffee due to my own dislike of coffee flavor, and used Ghiradelli milk chocolate chips instead of grated chocolate. I also left out the hot water because of other reviews, and it was the perfect thickness for dipping. Simplest fondue I've ever made, and delicious. Served with strawberries, bananas, rice krispy treats, and angelfood cake, and kept warm in a mini slow cooker since I don't own a fondue pot. Also, I mixed the leftovers with walnut pieces and refrigerated in a 8x8 pan for fudge-like bars. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Very easy and tasty. I made it for Valentine's day and my boyfriend and I loved it. I used chocolate chips like some of the other reviewers (spent a little more for Ghirardelli and used 2 bags of bittersweet, one bag of milk because we prefer dark chocolate). We both preferred fruit and pretzels as dippers to cake and vanilla wafers (too sweet). And yes, it makes A LOT. If I made this again for 2-6 people, I would halve the recipe. One reviewer suggested making truffles out of the leftovers, which sounds like a great idea but I haven't tried it. Bought a tiny crock pot at a thrift store for the occasion, so I'll probably making this again -- it would be great for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Manus Kuepker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States