Chocolate Bar Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This recipe was excellent! I made this for the first time for a dinner party of 10 guests and everyone raved! Only substitution was instant espresso instead of instant coffee. Served fondue with grahm crackers, marshmellows, angelfood cake, bananas, strawberries and grapes. So good, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Very good. For dipping, we used green and red apples, orange sections, strawberries and angel food cake. I used brewed coffee instead of instant coffee. I should have added more (I used 2 tbsp, next time I'll try 1/4 to 1/3 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I halfed this recipe and used all the ingredients (including the coffee!). This recipe is so fantastic...I think I am addicted and looking for an excuse to make it again. I made it for a small baby shower and it was the pefect dessert and activity for the girls to do while sipping wine and catching up. I served pineapples, strawberries, pretzel rods, bananas, chocolate chip and oreo cookies. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was an incredibly easy fondue to make. I completely omitted the coffee, and I added a bit more sugar to make it sweeter. I halved the recipe, but still had a ton left over so I used someone's suggestion and made truffles - a bonus second dessert from the same recipe! I will definitely use this the next time I need chocolate fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
amazing. 1/2 this recipe for sure. I did and it still fed 5 with leftovers too. I substituted coffee liquor for the instant coffee. Served with banana's, pineapple, strawberries, and wafer cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I didn't add the coffee because I didn't want it affect the flavor. I also used high end chocolate chips but next time I will use chocolate bars because it tasted a little like melted chocolate chips (not as good). This is a great basic recipe that even first time fonduers like me can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
So delicious! Though be careful of overcooking the chocolate sauce. I did and the sauce, instead of having a smooth texture, ended up being rather lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Very, very good. I used 1/2 semi sweet and 1/2 bittersweet - more of a sophisticated flavor. It was yummy. Stick to the milk chocolate or semi-sweet for the kids though. Besides a variety of fruit, I bought those little creme puffs in the freezer section - they were delicious dipped in the chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Heatley Raymondi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Great, easy recipe for fondue! Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was the best chocolate fondue I have ever tasted. I halved the recipe, used chocolate chips instead grated chocolate, and substituted Kahlua for the coffee. I also made mine in a double boiler (a glass bowl over a saucepan of water - the best way to melt chocolate) and then transferred it to a small slow cooker on the warm setting. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was incredible. This is the recipe I will be using every time I make chocolate fondue from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States