Chocolate Bar Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Made this exactly as written, and it was excellent! Rivals the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Proper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was so great! I used 3 bags of 60% dark chocolate chips, and it was a little too dark for some of the kids, but the grown-ups loved it. I may add one bag of milk chocolate chips next time. I didn't do a good job of melting the chocolate. It got all clumped up, but with a LOT of stirring and adding more whipping cream, it smoothed out, and was delicious. We dipped fresh fruit, pound cake, and marshmallows. Will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I used this recipe and it was LOVED by everyone. I omitted the water ( as was suggested) by other users but had it in a chocolate fountain. I will definitely add the water next time. If it was in a normal fondue pot-- the consistency would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great flavor. I cut the recipe in half. Omitted the coffee powder and water and just used brewed coffee. The melted chocolate was thin so I'd probably leave out the water/coffee next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a wonderful fondue. Delicious and EASY. I used instant cappuccino mix instead of the coffee granules and still used the water. I kept wisking it in the pot while cooking and it was SMOOTH. The kids loved it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
incredible! i made this a half recipe and there was plenty. i also skipped adding the coffee and its was perfect. the perfect consistency andflavor. we dipped bananas, strawberries, pinapple, brownies, angle food cake and marshmallows. i will sooo make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I halved the recipe and had lots for a smaller crowd (5 adults, 4 kids). I didn't use the coffee and used light cream, 2/3 milk chocolate, 1/3 semi-sweet chocolate (Callebaut chocolate I found in the bulk food aisle). I made it on the stove and then split it into 2 fondue pots and as another reviewer mentioned I added a couple tbsp Bailey's to the grown-up pot. Dipped pieces of shortbread cookies (huge hit), chunks of marzipan, macadamia nuts and lots of fruit (raspberries, strawberries, dried cherries, mandarin slices). The next day I made pannekoeken (dutch pancakes) and spread the left over fondue (it melted nicely on the hot pancakes) and bananas. Both uses were delicious and a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thamesford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This recipe was so easy and soooo good. It was my first time making fondue, and it came out great! I used brewed coffee instead of instant, as one review suggested, and it was great. My boyfriend, who doesn't care much for dessert, raved about this! I definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This deserves one MILLION stars!! This was my first time making fondue, and it was so easy!! Simple to prepare and guests were very impressed! I also used 1/3 c. fresh coffee as I was out of instant, as suggested by others. Just HEAVENLY!! :-) Thanks for sharing this- this will be a staple when we entertain!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by munsonka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I tried this recipe out the night I got my chocolate fountain... With some of the other raters saying that it was a bit thin, I thought it would be great for the fountain... especially since the person who posted this put up a picture of the chocolate fondue in a fountain. I tried this (left out the coffee), and it was very good. Only problem was that it was too thick and i had to add almost 2 cups of oil for it to properly run through my fountain. (I halved the recipe and needed to add almost 2 cups of oil.) It was good but I was disappointed that I had to add that much oil, which then took away the good chocolate flavor.. If anyone has a good suggestion, please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States