Chocolate-Banana Tofu Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I submitted this recipe and am glad to hear that others are enjoying it. I have two tips. I find that using a frozen banana imparts a more intense banana flavor. Plus it chills the pudding instantly so you can eat it sooner :) Also, add a tsp of vanilla if you use regular cow's milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Oh my gosh, I am in love with this. It feels absolutely DECADENT. I used firm tofu because that's all I had on hand, but it worked just fine. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I think all the right flavors are in there and the tofu gives body to the pudding but since tofu doesn't have much taste the overall flavor is very subtle. Couldn't really taste the banana either so I would say either use a very ripe banana or throw in an extra. Think it'd taste better served with something else, like fruit. Will try playing around with the proportions next time but all in all, great way to use up extra tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is delicious! Very creamy and smooth; better texture than regular pudding imo. Not too sweet; the chocolate and banana flavors are really highlighted. Served with additional sliced banana and sprinkle of cinnamon. Also got five stars from omni hubby and picky 9 and 12 year olds. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
YAY for healthy pudding!!!! I used extra firm tofu because I wanted the pudding to be more firm. It set great like a pie filling. I used 7-8 SweetNLow packets instead of confectioners' sugar to make it as low-cal as possible. Don't leave out the cinnamon it adds the perfect flavor. Next time I will not put in as much Cocoa powder. I mixed in 1 cp chopped bananas, blueberries and strawberries and it was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Simple. Easy. Delicious. It is Vegetarian Festival here in Thailand during the period 15-23 Oct 12. I shared this dish with some friends at the office. They would not believe it's made of tofu. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. Even when it's not Vegetarian Festival here, I will surely make this again and again! Sue Bangkok, Thailand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suepoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
My husband accidentally got some soft tofu, so I was in search of some new recipes. I tried making this pudding this morning. I used frozen banana and milk with some vanilla, but, otherwise, I stayed with the recipe. It thickened up really well. I served it to my 2 & 4 year old's at lunch with some blueberries and a dollop of whipped cream. They loved it. It does have just a little bit of a powdery aftertaste. I think this comes from having so much confectioner's sugar and cocoa powder. I will definitely keep this one and play with the proportions. I think I might try some simple syrup instead of the powdered sugar. I might also try some melted dark chocolate to replace some of the cocoa powder. But, this is an awesome base recipe to jump all over from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is really good. I don't love tofu, and really made this so that my son could have a sweet treat that had some nutritional value. I used two bananas, a bit more than a pinch of cinnamon, skim milk, and a little over a teaspoon of vanilla. MUCH better than any other recipies I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Oh my gosh! I have tried a few pudding style recipe with tofu but this came out perfect. It has to sit in the fridge to thicken and blend flavors. Don't judge it right after you make it. I did leave out the cinnamon and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I love the idea of healthy dessert but this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States