Chocolate-Banana Tofu Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is delicious! Very creamy and smooth; better texture than regular pudding imo. Not too sweet; the chocolate and banana flavors are really highlighted. Served with additional sliced banana and sprinkle of cinnamon. Also got five stars from omni hubby and picky 9 and 12 year olds. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Oh my gosh, I am in love with this. It feels absolutely DECADENT. I used firm tofu because that's all I had on hand, but it worked just fine. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I submitted this recipe and am glad to hear that others are enjoying it. I have two tips. I find that using a frozen banana imparts a more intense banana flavor. Plus it chills the pudding instantly so you can eat it sooner :) Also, add a tsp of vanilla if you use regular cow's milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I think all the right flavors are in there and the tofu gives body to the pudding but since tofu doesn't have much taste the overall flavor is very subtle. Couldn't really taste the banana either so I would say either use a very ripe banana or throw in an extra. Think it'd taste better served with something else, like fruit. Will try playing around with the proportions next time but all in all, great way to use up extra tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Consistency was a bit watery, I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
fantastic, I love this recipe. I used regular milk just because I didn't need it to be Vegan. I also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. My only wish was that I could find tofu in 12ounce packs. The one I had was 14 ounces and because my family is not big on tofu I had wasted tofu. Thank you for a great dessert recipe that I can feel good about feeding to my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is great for what it is, which is a low-calorie, vegan, tasty chocolate treat. However, you certainly will not be deceived into thinking that it is real cream. The tofu, in particular, leaves a bit of an aftertaste. Next time I make it I will use less tofu and an additional banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
this is excellent - and so easy! great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I'm not a big fan of banana, so I thought this recipe was just okay. I probably used too big of a banana though - 9 inches is plenty! I used skim milk, so I added 1 tsp vanilla extract to the recipe. I especially liked this frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
YUM! I modified a bit because of what I had on hand, etc. I'm sure it would be fabulous as-written though! Here's what I did differently: used leftover tofu so only had about 8oz, used evaporated milk, no cinnamon (yet, may try in my next helping). I didn't really measure anything--did it more "smoothy-like", rough estimates of milk, cocoa, and sugar until it tasted right... Nice way to use up a bit of tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States