Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
First, this oatmeal is sweet, but when you add chocolate and sugar to something that is going to be the end result. However, I make the good old fashion oatmeal on the stove maybe three times a week and let my six year old son add his own toppings which is usually natural sugar or pure maple syrup and raisins and when he gives me a bit I must say it is much sweeter than the chocolate oatmeal. We've also tried those prepackaged flavored oatmeal’s and those are just as sweet as this and not nearly as healthy in my opinion. That being said, next time I make this I will probably omit sugar and set it on the table so everyone can add their own. FYI- we didn't use chocolate or brown sugar, we used carob chips and natural sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Soooo yummy!!! This is my chocolate fix, and I absolutely love the flavours that the chocolate and banana give to the oatmeal! I omit the brown sugar as I find it's sweet enough with the banana and chocolate, but yum, yum, yum :) Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I love the idea of adding in mashed banana in a porridge. Definitely a different way to serve plain old oatmeal. I love the fact that oatmeal makes a nutritious breakfast and I was looking for a new way to prepare it, rather than eating pre-favored, packaged instant oatmeal which is not that healthy. Finally, I found one. However, I made mine low-fat. I opt out the chocolate chips and used 1 tsp brown sugar for one serving (I scaled down to one serving) only. It is sweet enough for me, as banana has its natural sweetness added to it already. And I used half water, half fat-free milk. It turned out fabulous! All you health conscious people out there, if you want a low-fat, low-cal, delicious oatmeal porridge without compromising the good taste, do it this way!!! I promise you, you won't be disappointed. Thank you so much for the recipe idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Both my boys (3 and 1) clean their bowls whenever I serve this. And my 3 year old is VERY picky. I cut down the sugar to about 1/4 cup or less. I also plan to use peanut butter, maybe omit the banana. but each time I think to do it, I don't want to mess with a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
YUM! I cooked the oatmeal with soy milk instead of water in the microwave and cut out the sugar. W/o the sugar and less chocalate chips its a very tasty healthy new breakfast. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I have to say this is darn near the perfect breakfast. I have made this almost every other day all winter and spring long. like other reviewers, I have cut the brown sugar down to a large "heaping" spoonful. I have also added ground flax seed to mine. I always top with fresh fruite like blueberries or strawberries and either a dollop of yogurt or whipped cream. The taste and consistency of this oatmeal is great. It is a nice hearty breakfast with a nice twise. I have been using 60% Ghirardelli(sp?) chocolate chips for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P. Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This may sound sweet and not too good, but believe me it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
I substituted raisins for the chocolate chips and added a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. It was awesome! Next time I will definitely have to try it with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Quite good oatmeal, definitely a change from the blah regular stuff. I also did a half milk/half water mixture, left out chocolate chips and actually didn't add any sugar, and it still tasted fine(my banana was quite ripe so I think the natural sweetness was good enough!). I did feel a bit sick afterwards, but I think that's just from the density of the oatmeal and the rate at which I gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I actually cheated a bit and just went with the general idea of this recipe rather than the recipe itself. I made one packet of plain oatmeal, added the mashed banana and maybe 1.5 teaspoons of brown sugar, then sprinkled with chocolate chips. I must say, it was quite tasty for breakfast or for a snack. I've already made this several times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States