Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I cut the sugar back by half and I used mini chocolate chips. Right after serving, I floated a little milk on the top. The kids thought this was awesome. My oldest asked me next time if we could try this with mashed strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Nice change from plain 'ol oatmeal. And the additional of chocolate for breakfast - yummy! This not only tastes delicious, but happens to be good for you too! I cut back on the sugar a bit (personal preference). I added a little cinnamon and a splash of vanilla. I topped this with some toasted walnuts - so good I almost didn't think it was breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This may sound sweet and not too good, but believe me it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Obviously if you add chocolate and brown sugar to something, it's going to be delicious. :) I'm enjoying a bowl as I type this and it is very good. I did cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and even with a pretty green banana it's plenty sweet. I sprinkled some cinnamon on top, and it was great! It does crack me up that all the reviews for this recipe call for omitting the sugar and the chocolate: "try this, it's amazing!" That's not a recipe, that's just regular oatmeal, people. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSaturdayNight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Both my boys (3 and 1) clean their bowls whenever I serve this. And my 3 year old is VERY picky. I cut down the sugar to about 1/4 cup or less. I also plan to use peanut butter, maybe omit the banana. but each time I think to do it, I don't want to mess with a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I love the idea of adding in mashed banana in a porridge. Definitely a different way to serve plain old oatmeal. I love the fact that oatmeal makes a nutritious breakfast and I was looking for a new way to prepare it, rather than eating pre-favored, packaged instant oatmeal which is not that healthy. Finally, I found one. However, I made mine low-fat. I opt out the chocolate chips and used 1 tsp brown sugar for one serving (I scaled down to one serving) only. It is sweet enough for me, as banana has its natural sweetness added to it already. And I used half water, half fat-free milk. It turned out fabulous! All you health conscious people out there, if you want a low-fat, low-cal, delicious oatmeal porridge without compromising the good taste, do it this way!!! I promise you, you won't be disappointed. Thank you so much for the recipe idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I really liked this - my three boys however were not crazy about it. It was pretty sweet - so next time I will decrease the sugar a bit and probably not use as many chocolate chips. The banana is a great touch. Mmmmmmmmm Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
I substituted raisins for the chocolate chips and added a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. It was awesome! Next time I will definitely have to try it with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was really tasty and a nice change from the oatmeal we normally eat. I omitted the brown sugar as my banana was pretty ripe, and it was perfect. Just a touch sweet. Nice way to sneak fruit into my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was pretty good. I was mindful of the other reviews saying it was overly sweet, so we added the sugar a little at a time until it was sweet enough - probably only a couple of spoonfuls. This was a nice change from the usual porridge, but not something we want too regularly. Thanks, Glitzystar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States