Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This may sound sweet and not too good, but believe me it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
The kids did not like the look or taste of this oatmeal. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Both my boys (3 and 1) clean their bowls whenever I serve this. And my 3 year old is VERY picky. I cut down the sugar to about 1/4 cup or less. I also plan to use peanut butter, maybe omit the banana. but each time I think to do it, I don't want to mess with a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I really liked this - my three boys however were not crazy about it. It was pretty sweet - so next time I will decrease the sugar a bit and probably not use as many chocolate chips. The banana is a great touch. Mmmmmmmmm Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
This is good if you like SWEET but don't even think about calling this oatmeal healthy! Hey at least it has banana and oats in it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
I substituted raisins for the chocolate chips and added a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. It was awesome! Next time I will definitely have to try it with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I tried this recipe after reading the other reviews. I only added about a tablespoon of chocolate chips, if that, but even with that little I found it much too sweet. Drop the chocolate chips, add a little milk and it should be very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Great recipe, but we used 1/4 cup sugar and it was still too sweet, also we used 1/2 milk and 1/2 water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was ok but my kids didn't like it. I think prefavored instant oatmeal is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I love the idea of adding in mashed banana in a porridge. Definitely a different way to serve plain old oatmeal. I love the fact that oatmeal makes a nutritious breakfast and I was looking for a new way to prepare it, rather than eating pre-favored, packaged instant oatmeal which is not that healthy. Finally, I found one. However, I made mine low-fat. I opt out the chocolate chips and used 1 tsp brown sugar for one serving (I scaled down to one serving) only. It is sweet enough for me, as banana has its natural sweetness added to it already. And I used half water, half fat-free milk. It turned out fabulous! All you health conscious people out there, if you want a low-fat, low-cal, delicious oatmeal porridge without compromising the good taste, do it this way!!! I promise you, you won't be disappointed. Thank you so much for the recipe idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States