Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This recipe was ok I mean I would be making this again, but instead of using chocolate I used banana and thats it. That tasted really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This was way to sweet! I even took suggestions, and put less b. sugar in it. I will make it again, but probably skip the chocolate chips. We thought the mashed banana was good in it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was pretty good. I was mindful of the other reviews saying it was overly sweet, so we added the sugar a little at a time until it was sweet enough - probably only a couple of spoonfuls. This was a nice change from the usual porridge, but not something we want too regularly. Thanks, Glitzystar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Quite good oatmeal, definitely a change from the blah regular stuff. I also did a half milk/half water mixture, left out chocolate chips and actually didn't add any sugar, and it still tasted fine(my banana was quite ripe so I think the natural sweetness was good enough!). I did feel a bit sick afterwards, but I think that's just from the density of the oatmeal and the rate at which I gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I love the idea of adding in mashed banana in a porridge. Definitely a different way to serve plain old oatmeal. I love the fact that oatmeal makes a nutritious breakfast and I was looking for a new way to prepare it, rather than eating pre-favored, packaged instant oatmeal which is not that healthy. Finally, I found one. However, I made mine low-fat. I opt out the chocolate chips and used 1 tsp brown sugar for one serving (I scaled down to one serving) only. It is sweet enough for me, as banana has its natural sweetness added to it already. And I used half water, half fat-free milk. It turned out fabulous! All you health conscious people out there, if you want a low-fat, low-cal, delicious oatmeal porridge without compromising the good taste, do it this way!!! I promise you, you won't be disappointed. Thank you so much for the recipe idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was ok but my kids didn't like it. I think prefavored instant oatmeal is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Great recipe, but we used 1/4 cup sugar and it was still too sweet, also we used 1/2 milk and 1/2 water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I tried this recipe after reading the other reviews. I only added about a tablespoon of chocolate chips, if that, but even with that little I found it much too sweet. Drop the chocolate chips, add a little milk and it should be very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
I substituted raisins for the chocolate chips and added a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. It was awesome! Next time I will definitely have to try it with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
This is good if you like SWEET but don't even think about calling this oatmeal healthy! Hey at least it has banana and oats in it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States