Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Just made it this morning. Actually, it's pretty darn good. This is the first time I ever finished an entire bowl of oatmeal! I cut back on the brown sugar and chocolate (I usually don't like my food that sweet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
First, this oatmeal is sweet, but when you add chocolate and sugar to something that is going to be the end result. However, I make the good old fashion oatmeal on the stove maybe three times a week and let my six year old son add his own toppings which is usually natural sugar or pure maple syrup and raisins and when he gives me a bit I must say it is much sweeter than the chocolate oatmeal. We've also tried those prepackaged flavored oatmeal’s and those are just as sweet as this and not nearly as healthy in my opinion. That being said, next time I make this I will probably omit sugar and set it on the table so everyone can add their own. FYI- we didn't use chocolate or brown sugar, we used carob chips and natural sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Quick and easy to prepare! I used quick cooking oats and cooked them with water in the microwave for 2.5 mins, then added the mashed banana and brown sugar and cooked for another 2 mins. Loved the sweetness of the banana and brown sugar. Just eyeballed the amt of sugar added. I sprinkled the chocolate chips on top but will probably omit next time...didn't really need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Obviously if you add chocolate and brown sugar to something, it's going to be delicious. :) I'm enjoying a bowl as I type this and it is very good. I did cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and even with a pretty green banana it's plenty sweet. I sprinkled some cinnamon on top, and it was great! It does crack me up that all the reviews for this recipe call for omitting the sugar and the chocolate: "try this, it's amazing!" That's not a recipe, that's just regular oatmeal, people. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSaturdayNight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I was looking for something different to serve my children for breakfast. We had everything the recipe required, so we tried it. I could barely keep a straight face when I got all of these great comments from each one of them. You can spice it up to you own acquired taste. But it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Only 4 stars because I know it would have been too sweet with all that sugar. I left it out and used a few drops of maple syrup instead. I stirred in an egg before adding the banana and chocolate chips. It was sooo creamy and good, sort of like having chocolate rice pudding for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Way too sweet. I would leave out the brown sugar, and just sprinkle a few chips on top instead of using 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was really tasty and a nice change from the oatmeal we normally eat. I omitted the brown sugar as my banana was pretty ripe, and it was perfect. Just a touch sweet. Nice way to sneak fruit into my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
YUM! I cooked the oatmeal with soy milk instead of water in the microwave and cut out the sugar. W/o the sugar and less chocalate chips its a very tasty healthy new breakfast. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I actually cheated a bit and just went with the general idea of this recipe rather than the recipe itself. I made one packet of plain oatmeal, added the mashed banana and maybe 1.5 teaspoons of brown sugar, then sprinkled with chocolate chips. I must say, it was quite tasty for breakfast or for a snack. I've already made this several times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States