Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very good! It breaks up the usual boring breakfast. :) The only thing I did differently was half the brown sugar..oh and make more since I have 4 kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Way too sweet! I usually make chocolate oatmeal for my daughters w/ just milk and chocolate chips and that is already plenty sweet. So definitely either completely eliminate the brown sugar or just sprinkle to taste. I did like the addition of the mashed banana, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Today is Halloween and my husband associates oatmeal with Halloween (for some reason) so I made this oatmeal for brunch. I left out the banana, but added 1/2 cup milk as it cooked because it was getting too thick. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. It turned out really tasty! I'd always wanted to try chocolate oatmeal and it will be a new Halloween tradition. To make it seem more Halloweeny, I made sweetened whipped cream, put it in a Ziploc bag, cut about an inch of one of the corners, piped ghosts onto the oatmeal, and stuck in chocolate chips for eyes. I posted a picture. If you want to try this, don't put on the ghosts until right before serving because they melt! For Christmas you could make whipped cream snowmen or marshmallow snowmen :) Or you could even just scoop the hot oatmeal into bowls, sprinkle with mini marshmallows, and stir them in like hot chocolate oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My 4 year old ate 2 bowls, I enjoyed it too, thought it would be really sweet and sickly but turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Soooo yummy!!! This is my chocolate fix, and I absolutely love the flavours that the chocolate and banana give to the oatmeal! I omit the brown sugar as I find it's sweet enough with the banana and chocolate, but yum, yum, yum :) Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I have to say this is darn near the perfect breakfast. I have made this almost every other day all winter and spring long. like other reviewers, I have cut the brown sugar down to a large "heaping" spoonful. I have also added ground flax seed to mine. I always top with fresh fruite like blueberries or strawberries and either a dollop of yogurt or whipped cream. The taste and consistency of this oatmeal is great. It is a nice hearty breakfast with a nice twise. I have been using 60% Ghirardelli(sp?) chocolate chips for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P. Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
great taste just a little to much chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Tasty and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
It tasted ok but I suggest making that 1cup of oats the way you normal do but add the banana, chocolate chips and sugar last and to taste. If I make this again I will make the oatmeal with milk not water (that is what I normally do) to give it more substance and add more salt. 1 tblspoon of brown sugar seemed good enough for me and my little girl and we love sweet things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weatherandsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Delicious -- but super sweet! Next time I will cut back on the sugar as suggested by the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frankfort, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States