Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This was great! I cut out the sugar entirely and added some vanilla and peanut butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Holy smokes this recipe is so sweet. I doubled the recipe and added less than a 1/4 the amount of sugar. I mean, I can see why people like this recipe...its a good combo of ingredients. But you need to go really easy on the sugar to make this breakfast appropriate or pair it with a cup of black coffee to cut the sweetness. I don't think I'll make this again. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I have substituted the 1/2 cup of sugar with 3 tablespoons of raw honey and it tasted fabulous! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Hi everyone. So grateful for the reviews. I now make this with a heaping tablespoon of brown sugar rather than the original 1/4 cup and swirl in a bit of cream on top before serving. Oatmeal is a soothing and nutritious food no matter how you enjoy it. Love reading the different versions and tastes, will try with dried fruit next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I also cut the sugar by half, and it was still plenty sweet. My daughters love this oatmeal and think it's a real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I couldn't finish my bowl. I love(!) chocolate porridge, and banana with nutella, so I was expecting to love this. But this combination was just not to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyChops

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I went by the recipe the first time, and it was to sweet. Used less sugar and less chocolate chips and it is great. 3 stars before my change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I cut the sugar back by half and I used mini chocolate chips. Right after serving, I floated a little milk on the top. The kids thought this was awesome. My oldest asked me next time if we could try this with mashed strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Nice change from plain 'ol oatmeal. And the additional of chocolate for breakfast - yummy! This not only tastes delicious, but happens to be good for you too! I cut back on the sugar a bit (personal preference). I added a little cinnamon and a splash of vanilla. I topped this with some toasted walnuts - so good I almost didn't think it was breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Like with most things, I made my own modifications to suit my tastes, but this is great as a base. Let me start out by saying that I hate oatmeal because of the texture and bland taste. I've had this oatmeal for the past three days! I kept the oat/water/banana part the same. I tasted it from there and decided that peanut butter would taste good in there, so I put in 1/2 c creamy peanut butter. After that addition, I tasted it and practically screamed "Yum!". Lol the bf thought I was crazy, but agreed that it was awesome after tasting it. He wanted to see how it would be with the chocolate, so I added that in too. It wasn't as good, but still yummy. The next morning (I couldn't eat 1/2 of a recipe because of how filling it was), I heated up part of my leftovers and added 1/8 c sliced almonds and half a banana. Sooooo good!!!! Im also calorie counting, so if you're curious, 1/8 of this recipe with my modifications and toppings is 271 calories or 161 for just the oatmeal with my modifications. Very satisfying Bfast! Made me rethink how I felt about oatmeal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States