Chocolate Banana Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This cake came out so good, made it for my mother in law's birthday and she loved it. I used 2 8" rounds and made the cake according to the box instructions. I had no problem with the filling oozing out of the sides, it looked just like the photo. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
It was ok. The cake seemed very dry the filling all came out, and no way what-so-ever should you use sugar free fudge. May try again but doubtful. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made my own cake, using the Black magic cake off this site. Than followed recipe. I found the cake tasty but not very visually appealing very very sloppy. The filling was oozing all over the place. Tasted good but wont be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My first official kitchen catastrophe. This cake was a sheer disaster. The banana cream mixture was not near as firm as I had expected and when I smeared it between the two cakes, the cream was oozing down the sides and the top layer wanted to slide off as I spread a chocolate ganache on top. Then, both the ganache and cream were falling down the sides of the cake (in a very unattractive way) and pooling all around the cake. This cake was a birthday cake and unpresentable so as I tried to move it onto a new tray it ripped apart and was futher destroyed. My only thought as to what went wrong: the amount of pudding mix should be a 3.4oz package (to help firm up the cream a bit more). This cake was a good idea in theory but in reality it's a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was pretty good and came out beautiful. My only complaint was that the banana flavoring was so intense you couldn't really taste any chocolate! Regardless, I would make it again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
It was good cake but it was SO sweet. I could only eat a very small amount at a time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This cake was absolutely fantastic! Very moist. Not overly sweet - the chocolate and bananas together are heavenly. Could have ate more than one slice but I would've felt sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Cake was a little dry, even with some extra oil in the mix. Fudge sauce was slippery which made the bananas & cream filling keep sliding off. I had to wrap a wide piece of foil around cake and chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I made this in 2 9-inch round pans, using a box mix that I added a package of chocolate pudding mix to. I think I used too much hot fudge sauce, as my bananas kept slipping off the first layer! But that was definitely my fault. I added a banana to the cool whip/pudding mixture and left out the banana flavoring. I had a lot of extra cool whip/pudding mix left, so I ended up putting it over the entire cake (top and sides) but that was a good thing. It looked beautiful! The taste was so good! Will definitely make again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Alternatively leave out the banana extract and use sliced strawberries. Sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States