Chocolate Banana Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by thorsbow
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wonderful!! Made this for Christmas and it was a hit. We used 2 round pans instead of the springform, and next time will do the same, and even slice those to make a 4 layer. There is plenty of cream filling, it was oozing out with 2 layers. Don't substitute banana pudding for the imitation banana flavor, it is yummy! Big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thorsbow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I baked it in 2 round cake pans as suggested, slicing to make 4 layers. To the filling, I added pineapple extract & 1/2 a small can of very well drained crushed pineapple. Then I sprinkled the inside layer with lightly toasted coconut & finely chopped macadamia nuts, finishing the top the same way before adding the 3 sliced banana garnish & mint leaves. AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Couldn't find banana extract, so i just mashed up an extra banana and used that instead. My family went crazy over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This cake was wonderful to make and serve. My family is actually very split when it comes to chocolate and fruit. Half of my family loves chocolate while the other prefers fruits. This cake brought them both together! I love the rich taste of the chocolate and the smooth creamy taste of the banana. I may be only cooking for about 5 years now. But this is one of the best cakes I have ever made and ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' for 5
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I only used the banana cream recipe from here (adding 1 fresh, but soft banana) and it turned out delicious - even better after refrigerated overnight. I then put my own twist on this cake making it a tribute to Elvis, lol! I didn't have boxed cake mix, so I used a dark chocolate cake recipe (from AR) and frosted the side of the cake with a peaunut butter frosting (also from AR)... it turned out great and has now been requested by my 13 for his b-day cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' for 5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by cRiStY
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I am not a big banana fan. But this was DELICIOUS!!!! I was very impressed with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cRiStY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I've always found the combination of bananas and chocolate absolutely delicious, and this recipe did not disappoint. I made only slight changes, using sugar free, fat free banana flavored pudding mix, which eliminated having to use banana extract, and I used skim milk to lighten the calorie load.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fairview, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I would've given it 5 stars... BUT since i chose to use my 9"cake pans I followed the recommendations listed here for eggs, oil, and milk. Baked for 28 mins., and it was very dried out. I love making my cakes moist! Personally, next time I will bake the cake as directed on the box and add the layers of *totally yummy goodness* =) I think too, it might taste good to use peppermint flavoring with crumbled andes mints layered... hmm other options to try?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Alternatively leave out the banana extract and use sliced strawberries. Sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I made this in 2 9-inch round pans, using a box mix that I added a package of chocolate pudding mix to. I think I used too much hot fudge sauce, as my bananas kept slipping off the first layer! But that was definitely my fault. I added a banana to the cool whip/pudding mixture and left out the banana flavoring. I had a lot of extra cool whip/pudding mix left, so I ended up putting it over the entire cake (top and sides) but that was a good thing. It looked beautiful! The taste was so good! Will definitely make again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States