Chocolate Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
These are soooo tasty. A few tricks that were helpful: 1. Freeze the pbutter balls before dipping - not solid but an hour in the freezer worked great for me. The kitchen was warm and so were my hands - without the freezing, the balls were too mushy to really dip. 2. Use toothpicks to dip the balls in the chocolate (which I had no probs with). This creates a small pinprick size hole at the top, which I covered with a small dot of chocolate - the perfect topper! Everyone loves these - they are disappearing out of the freezer before the holidays even begin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Step #1 goes smoothly. Step #2 for me was a disaster. After adding the shortening to the chocolate, the ingredients turned to sludge. Fortunately, I have a friend who makes these, and she gave me her recipe for the dipping mixture and the end result was fantastic. Melt 2 cups of choc. chips with 2 tbsp. veg. oil in microwave on high for one minute. Stir and microwave for 30 seconds more. An additional 15 seconds might be required. Dip the balls as instructed in the last sentence of Step #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Excellent!!..I just made them without a hitch..I did use the vegetable oil instead of the shortening..I also added 1/2C. white chocolate chips and 1 1/2C chocolate chips..just because I wanted them lighter in colour..I also made them teeny weeny, pop in your mouth size..I also used 2 toothpics, one to dip and one to slide them off the other toothpic, sliding it over the hole to cover it..They turned out perfect! Thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuZySHooZ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
***VEGAN APPROVED!***This is a great, easy recipe! I used rice crispies instead of graham crackers to make it GLUTEN FREE for a guest and everyone loved them! I also didn't have baking squares of chocolate but it made no difference, I just used the chocolate chips and shortening. Afterwards I covered them in different toppings like coconut and walnut! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBENDER85

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Tastey! Easy but somewhat messy. Next time I will make some minor changes, such as line the storage container with wax paper, before I start dipping the cookies. Use a toothpick to dip the cookie in melted chocolate. Then put the cookie on the wax paper. I needed to put mine in the fridge to set, so it got a little messy transferring the cookies... but a very good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I haven't tried this particular recipe, but I make something similar every year. After reading a lot of the reviews I figured I would add a little tip: Instead of shortening, I use 1 stick of household parafin wax mixed with 1 bag of chocolate chips in a double boiler for the coating. The wax helps the chocolate set quicker and harder and makes for a nice sheen. It also thins the chocolate to make it easier to dip the balls. Also, if your peanut butter is too thin or melty, just keep adding more confectioners sugar until the dough is stiff enough to work with. We make peanut butter balls similar to these every year (never tried it with the graham cracker though, may have to try that this year!)and we love them! It's a must have every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Amazing & rich! I substituted graham crackers with rice crispies and the shortening with 2 tbsp vegetable oil (as previous reviewers recommended). The best!! HINT: Keep extra confectioners (icing) sugar on hand when you roll the balls as it helps keep the peanut butter mixture off your hands. Also, use the freezer to help keep the balls solid both before and after you've dipped them in the chocolate. It takes time but WELL worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I made this recipe as a cookie exchange for the holidays. Instead of using the semi-sweet chocolate i used chocolate candy melts which I already had. It came out great. Tastes better than peanut butter cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Very good but very, very rich!! I would try to make smaller chocolate balls next time. Still a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I just didn't care for these that much. Edible, but not something I'd bother repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States