Chocolate Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
These cookies are awesome. My two year old can help me with most all except the dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
husband ate almost all within a 36 hour period!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
I didn't have any shortening and tried to use butter instead.I also tried to use a few peanut butter chips mixed in, it didn't get "liquidy" enough to coat balls easily. Don't try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
absolutely wonderful, easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I think that the recipe may have been wrong. When I put the shortening with the chocolate, the chocolate would not melt. I found another recipe of the same thing and it said to put the shortening with the peanut butter mix. I eventually just melted milk chocolate and dipped the peanut butter mix into it (but let me tell you, peanut butter on a fork in chocolate does not work very well!) The peanut butter balls slipped off the fork into the chocolate and was very difficult to transfer onto the wax paper. With the milk chocolate on, they tasted pretty good-just like a reese's peanut butter cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I made this recipe as a cookie exchange for the holidays. Instead of using the semi-sweet chocolate i used chocolate candy melts which I already had. It came out great. Tastes better than peanut butter cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Step #1 goes smoothly. Step #2 for me was a disaster. After adding the shortening to the chocolate, the ingredients turned to sludge. Fortunately, I have a friend who makes these, and she gave me her recipe for the dipping mixture and the end result was fantastic. Melt 2 cups of choc. chips with 2 tbsp. veg. oil in microwave on high for one minute. Stir and microwave for 30 seconds more. An additional 15 seconds might be required. Dip the balls as instructed in the last sentence of Step #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
These are soooo tasty. A few tricks that were helpful: 1. Freeze the pbutter balls before dipping - not solid but an hour in the freezer worked great for me. The kitchen was warm and so were my hands - without the freezing, the balls were too mushy to really dip. 2. Use toothpicks to dip the balls in the chocolate (which I had no probs with). This creates a small pinprick size hole at the top, which I covered with a small dot of chocolate - the perfect topper! Everyone loves these - they are disappearing out of the freezer before the holidays even begin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Fantastic! I used natural peanut butter for the inside and a mixyure of semi-sweet and milk chocolate chips for the coating. Also, I microwaved the chocolate coating as was suggested by an earlier reiewer. I also froze them which was great - it made dipping them better. Also I just dunked the balls in the hcocolate and lifted them out with a fork. I could do 5 at a time this way and they still turned out looking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States