Chocolate Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Made these for my mom for christmas. She also got a set of box chocolates, with the same sort of idea. I was kind of worried but she liked mine so much, she said she'd trade the whole store bought box for just one of mine! I used milk chocolate chips, semisweet baking squares and vegetable oil for the drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bella Bella, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
There are tasty, but a bit messy when it comes to the chocolate. I should have put them in the freezer prior to going to step 2 but i just put them in the fridge, they were not firm enough when put in hot chocolate. I will learn from my mistake and would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I try to make these every Christmas - they are a big hit! I will try freezing the balls first this year, and also using the confectioner's sugar to help keep the PB mixture off my hands. It's a very messy process so every bit helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I make these every year for the holidays and I have to make a double batch. Everyone eats them up. I make them just as the recipe says, including shortening (Crisco) NOT oil. Not sure why people had trouble with that. The Crisco melts right in with the chocolate while giving it a glossy look without making it too runny. I just substitute Sunbutter for peanut butter since my son has a peanut allergy. A good tip is to refrigerate the balls before dipping them, even overnight. It can be time consuming to do everything in one sitting and the cold balls are easier to dip. I just use a fork like the recipe says, then sprinkle with a few Christmas colored sprinkles. I've been making these for years and will continue to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Excellent!!..I just made them without a hitch..I did use the vegetable oil instead of the shortening..I also added 1/2C. white chocolate chips and 1 1/2C chocolate chips..just because I wanted them lighter in colour..I also made them teeny weeny, pop in your mouth size..I also used 2 toothpics, one to dip and one to slide them off the other toothpic, sliding it over the hole to cover it..They turned out perfect! Thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuZySHooZ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Amazing & rich! I substituted graham crackers with rice crispies and the shortening with 2 tbsp vegetable oil (as previous reviewers recommended). The best!! HINT: Keep extra confectioners (icing) sugar on hand when you roll the balls as it helps keep the peanut butter mixture off your hands. Also, use the freezer to help keep the balls solid both before and after you've dipped them in the chocolate. It takes time but WELL worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
way too sweet, will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
These were really good and pretty easy to make. The only thing was that the balls were a little hard to dip in the chocolate because they are so soft. So, I put them in the freezer for a few minutes first - it made them much easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I haven't tried this particular recipe, but I make something similar every year. After reading a lot of the reviews I figured I would add a little tip: Instead of shortening, I use 1 stick of household parafin wax mixed with 1 bag of chocolate chips in a double boiler for the coating. The wax helps the chocolate set quicker and harder and makes for a nice sheen. It also thins the chocolate to make it easier to dip the balls. Also, if your peanut butter is too thin or melty, just keep adding more confectioners sugar until the dough is stiff enough to work with. We make peanut butter balls similar to these every year (never tried it with the graham cracker though, may have to try that this year!)and we love them! It's a must have every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Very good but very, very rich!! I would try to make smaller chocolate balls next time. Still a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States