Chocolate Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
DELICIOUS! My husband has been talking about it for months since I made it, I will be saving the SECOND time I make it for some special occasion! :) A little more involved than the average recipe, as bread can be, but worth every bit of time. I did double the filling, as another reviewer suggested, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Really tasty! make sure to cut the slits on the top, not the bottom or the chocolate will all leak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I had never had a Babka before despite my Polish upbringing, but gave it a try. My 2 & 4 year olds helped. We used 2 cups white whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour, chocolate chips for the baking chocolate squares, & sucanat (dehydrated sugar cane juice crystals) for the white sugar. We thought it was good but not spectacular. My loaves baked very well but I would bake the loaves separately next time for better doneness control. One ended up more done than the other despite my rotating during baking and careful monitoring. This recipe inspired me to keep trying heritage recipes, looking for ultimate keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Absolutely perfect! A beautiful breakfast pastry with just the right touch of sweetness. I made two "rings", and my family ate both in one meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was magnificent! Tasters were beating a path back to our door for more, but we gobbled up any of the extra- it was just that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Thatoneguy
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Loved making this! Made it the other night for Easter and it was a big hit! It wasn't very difficult to make. The only really time consuming part was waiting for the dough to rise. Going to make some more this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
this was good bread, it tasted like choclate cinnamon rolls. I used less flour, also I made one ring with streusel, one without. We prefered it without the streusl as it did not stay on the ring very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
The dough came out a tad on the dry side but the family loved it this bread. We will make this again. I was disappointed that the filling melted out of the slits and all over the pan leaving empty spaces where the filling used to be. Next time I probably won't do the slits and make it more like a cinnamon roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
We loved this bread. I made two yesterday one for my neighbor and one for us. Both households loved it. Ours is already gone. I loved the chocolate but am trying to figure what else I can put in it, maybe Jam or perserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I put all ingredients in bread machine. Came out beautiful. Unfortunately one was sacrificed to a super bowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States