Chocolate Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
There's no recipe lol! Would love to see it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Do it! Don't hesitate! For something so impressive, it's really not that much work, no fancy ingredients required. The sweet bread is wonderful, not too sweet, and biting into the chocolate filling is a transformative experience :) I did add a little more chocolate, which was fine; but I think doubling it, as someone suggested, would really overwhelm the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used chocolate chips instead of chopping up the chocolate, which worked great. I put the streusel on one and topped the other with cinnamon and sugar. My husband and I preferred the one without the streusel. Next time I would make it with a little bit of sugar sprinkled on top, no cinnamon. Also be sure to roll the dough very thin, because that makes for a thicker middle and you can taste the chocolate more. This was a keeper, although I'll save it for special occasions because of the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindybee
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I have made this several times it's a family favorite. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Really liked the recipe and instructions. The only recommendation that I can make is to double the chocolate filling. I had chocolate babka in New York, and there was much more chocolate in it. Next time, I will roll the dough to 15x8 and double the chocolate filling for each. I think that I will also sprinkle it with course sugar after the egg wash and before I add the delicious streusel topping for an extra touch of sparkle and crunch for the top. YUM! I am saving this recipe, just modifying it a bit to make it perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDHULME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made this recipe it is delicious, i highly recommend proofing for as much if not longer a time period than is suggested, i though I could proof for a little less time and mine came out a bit dense. But Still DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I doubled the filling and thought it was a little too much - but my kids can't get enough. The dough was not too wet at all. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Very good...i'm partial to the egg wash because it give the bread a the type of crust you would expect a soft pretzel to have but overall this recipe is delicious! I would say with the chocolate it's more of a dessert type bread than breakfast, but it definitely won over my friends and family! I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully. I'm going to try it with different fillings next time such as just cinnamon and sugar or maybe some fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rkhyclak
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So.Good! I used Nutella in addition to the chocolate mixture just because I wanted more chocolate. I also skipped the streusel topping, egg washed the top and sprinkled cinnamon/sugar on before baking. The dough was so easy to make and handle-I didn't need any additional flour at all. It was definitely one of the best doughs I've worked with in awhile! I took both "loaves" to a Bible study group of 12 people and both were gone in less than 10 minutes. Next time I may opt for the more traditional twisted loaf, but these were just fine too! I made my cuts with scissors towards the top and didn't have any issues with leaking filling. My husband, who's Polish, didn't remember having this with chocolate, but with a nut filling instead. I may have to figure out what he's talking about and give it a try as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkhyclak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
MMMMMMMMHM!!!! delicious! a tip for preventing the leaking, cut AFTER the rings rise, and instead of cutting the bottom, cut the top instead. *update* Right in the middle of making this recipe, I realized I didn't have bread flour. Used all-purpose flour and it still turned out. Also, to prevent dough from being dry, add about a tablespoon of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States