Chocolate Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Judy
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This bread is delicious! Makes a lovely change from the usual cinnamon buns. It makes two good-sized loaves, so make sure you're feeding a crowd, or do what I did and use the second loaf a day or two later to make a wonderfully fragrant chocolate bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My uncle used to make Babka all the time when I was young. I wanted to make it just like him - but this was a bit different. Still, it was GREAT! I made it exactly like the recipe and the only thing I recommend is putting the filling all over the dough. I left about 1/2 an inch on both the right and left and when I connected the ends, it left that area without chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hedder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Very good recipe. It was a little dry, but overall very tasty and different. It reminded me of a cinnamon bun but with chocolate added. MMM...i would make this again. Presentation is very nice for company...i might try using something other than chocolate...could be good with a berry jam filling instead! I used the bread machine to make the dough and it worked very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Rich taste and flavor. I don't bake much and usually nothing this complicated. In fact for a first time making babka it came out pretty good - it cooked evenly throughout - it was just a bit heavy as I used whole wheat flour instead of white/all purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This tasted pretty good, especially warm with butter. I thought the consistency was similar to the chocolate chip bagels we get at our grocery store--which wasn't exactly what I was hoping for. But the flavor was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bird
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Wow...this bread tastes amazing! I really thought it wasn't going to turn out because of multiple mishaps on my part. I was also a bit concerned because the recipe calls for just dry active yeast, not fast acting, and the directions don't tell you to proof the yeast. My bread actually didn't rise that much, let alone double in size before punching it down, but I decided to follow through with the recipe anyway, and I'm glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is wonderful. I made some for the first time yesterday. It rich, but not too sweet. I will definitely make this again soon. It's perfect for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Outstanding!!!! I can't wait to make this again and will add more chocolate filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Loved it, and it was a hit! Like an Eastern European Pain au Chocolat. :) This will join regular rotation in my baking and will be a good starting point for other filled breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the4taals
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I only made the dough portion, which I halved for my Zulu King Cake. Dough was very good and easy when made in my bread machine! I also added 1 pouch vanilla sugar and reduced sugar to 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States