Chocolate Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Love this cake!! It is moist and has a great flavor. I love the sugar sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Delicious! Will use this recipe for more of my family/church functions. Easy recipe and no need for icing since it is sweet and moist enough as it is. Perfect for home and travel. Will be making cupcakes with this recipe in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shamong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Just made these last night and they are fantastic. A few alterations; cut the sugar to 1 cup plus a bit as others suggested and used 1/2 soft brown and 1/2 white sugars. Increased cocoa powder to 4 tsp. Added 2 tsp good quality instant coffee. Only had about 1 1/2 cups applesauce but they still turned out perfect. Omitted salt. For the topping, Added chopped White chocolate and dark cherry chocolate chunks on top, it looks lovely. Made them in silicone muffin cups as the picture shows and they look as good as they taste! Baked for 20 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Thank you! Very light, fluffy, moist and yummy! Good for dessert but light enough for breakfast too! I tested out a half batch which made 6 ice cream cone cupcakes and 8 regular cupcakes. I substituted smart balance for half the butter, whole wheat for half the flour, and doubled the cocoa. I think it could use more cocoa still. DH would rather not have the cinnamon, so I may leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was very good. Very moist. I was hesitant about adding the topping before baking but it came out perfect. I did add an extra cup of chocolate chips to the topping to make it more chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoa eh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very good. My husband gobbled up half the cake when he got home from work. I will definatly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haysville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Was alright, I generally like my desserts sweet, and this was a bit meh. I used sweetened applesauce and it still didn't have much of a kick. I've made several other cakes from this site using applesauce and loved them all, but the chocolate combination wasn't a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I am pleasantly surprised. :-) I honestly didn't think this cake would be great, I simply thought it would be good enough to throw together quickly and take to work. I planned on making it 'better' with my chocolate butter cream icing. Now I think it doesn't even need my frosting! I used half brown sugar in place of the white, simply because that's how I make ALL of my chocolate cakes, no exceptions. I was also out of baking soda, so I used baking powder instead and used a full 2 tsp. It worked just fine. Because I wanting something a little 'lighter', I opted to use light olive oil in place of butter, and I did not use the topping as suggested. I simply took some chocolate chips and sprinkles right on top. Most of my co-workers are not nut fans, and one has an allergy (although I love nuts in my desserts!). Next time I might even use a mix of brown sugar and xylitol to cut out some of the sugar. It still has an applesauce taste in the first few hours of baking, but my hunch is that this will blend in nicely by the end of the day or even the next day. Flavors usually take several hours to settle and mix with just anything you cook or bake. I was very moist, had a great texture and crumb, and is perfect with just a dallop of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Love this recipe! My 7 other guests did as well. They begged me to tell them what was in it. It's not a heavy cake so it's really nice after a good meal. I used dark chocolate chips on top but I wouldn't recommend this as it was a bit too strong for the cake. Normal choc chips would be fine or as someone else commented, just having the cake on its own would be fine too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is now my daughter"s and my favorite cake! Yummy. I do not care for frosting because the super sweet stuff makes me feel sick. This is just the right amount of sweetness with the topping on it. I made it exactly as directed, except that I used hickory nuts that I had gathered this fall, in place of the nuts listed. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States