Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made a no-sugar version with chopped dates instead of sugar. Also added an extra tsp of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon. Baked really well in a muffin tin - turned out great,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have made this twice now. Needed to use some applesauce that I made from apples given to me. The only change I made was to increase the cocoa to 6 T instead of 2. My applesauce was very naturally sweet, but since I had increased the cocoa I did not decrease the sugar. This is the first applesauce cake I have had that I really liked. It is super and my co-workers also loved it. Will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I live at 5000 feet and decreased the baking soda by a litle over an 1/8 teaspoon, increased the butter by 1 Tablespoon and decreased the sugar by 1.5 Tablespoon. I made cupcakes and baked them at 375 degrees for 19 minutes. They came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This has good flavor, but it was too thin for my taste. Next time I'll make it in a smaller pan. Also, I only had 1/4 c butter and I substituted 1/4 c applesauce, and this didn't seem to hurt the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Been baking chocolate cakes a long time and this one stands out above all others. Love not having to frost it. The chocolate chips and nuts are a perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pharr, Texas, USA
Living In: Walcott, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I listened to the reviews and used 1/4 cup of cocoa powder instead of 2 Tbsps. Good recommendation, it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
'Seems I go for applesauce cake when I'm having to use up applesauce. 'Not too creative. :D Well, I thought 2c applesauce was too much so only used 1 1/2c. The batter was pretty fluffy/light & not as thick as usual cake batter. It, the batter, tasted more like a light chocolate fluffy frosting than cake batter. 'Only had about 2/3c chips so saved a little for on top & mixed the rest in. They were minis so they give more chocolate flavor than larger ones. Mine took 45 minutes in glass. 'Think a lot has to do with the thickness of the applesauce. I used Mott's so I'm kinda surprised. The batter tasted fluffy. The cake reminds me of a mix. 'Not a bad mix, but a mix. 'Similar in texture & flavor to commercial baked goods - like devil dogs, on the dark side. It has a slightly shiny surface. K, 14, liked - & didn't know about the applesauce factor. :o :D Notsuchachocolatelover E, 16, did, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I love this cake so much I took a couple of pieces over to my neighbors right away! So moist and chocolaty (doubled the cocoa). I baked it in a bundt pan and it turned out perfectly. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
only had sweetened applesauce, so cut sugar back to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Oh my my my~~~ This is so good! I'm literally stuffing my face all over it!!! Ok, I did reduce the sugar like the reviewers recommended. That too and I didn't have unsweetened cocoa or the apple sauce, they're both already sweetened. I did fold in my left over godiva truffles I had from my birthday gift along with walnuts. Please~~~~ they are so moist and delicious!!!! I will make them again, but next time, I can reduce some more sugar and add more cocoa powder since the cocoa powder is already sweetened and want some more rich chocolate flavor. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States