Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Nice and moist but almost no flavor. It didn't taste of applesauce and aside from the chocolate chips on top there was no discernable chocolate flavor, even after 24 hours. I was sure I could improve upon the recipe so made it a 2nd time (lots of applesauce to use up at my house!)using half a cup of cocoa instead of 2 TBSP (and reducing the flour by 6 TSBP)but it was still very bland. It's as if both the applesauce and cocoa obliterate each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Modified for food intolerances Used gluten free flour Used coconut oil and coconut milk a Used 1 cup honey and 1/2 cup sugar Delicious Thanks!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I try not to change recipes and then rate them with 5 stars, but this was a great cake. It was so simple yet the results were fantastic! I had to use what was in my house, so we substituted cinnamon applesauce for plain, cut the butter in half, and used pecans instead of walnuts. Didn't miss the extra butter, in fact I'll likely try to cut it even further next time. The cinnamon applesauce was a great substitution, added an extra flavor element to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Bordihn Belter
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
very nice recipe but I did not use the semi-sweet chocolates and almonds. I used more cocoa powder because the color was not dark enough for me I used about 3 - 4 tbsp instead and make my own icing. Other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made a no-sugar version with chopped dates instead of sugar. Also added an extra tsp of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon. Baked really well in a muffin tin - turned out great,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have made this twice now. Needed to use some applesauce that I made from apples given to me. The only change I made was to increase the cocoa to 6 T instead of 2. My applesauce was very naturally sweet, but since I had increased the cocoa I did not decrease the sugar. This is the first applesauce cake I have had that I really liked. It is super and my co-workers also loved it. Will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I live at 5000 feet and decreased the baking soda by a litle over an 1/8 teaspoon, increased the butter by 1 Tablespoon and decreased the sugar by 1.5 Tablespoon. I made cupcakes and baked them at 375 degrees for 19 minutes. They came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This has good flavor, but it was too thin for my taste. Next time I'll make it in a smaller pan. Also, I only had 1/4 c butter and I substituted 1/4 c applesauce, and this didn't seem to hurt the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Been baking chocolate cakes a long time and this one stands out above all others. Love not having to frost it. The chocolate chips and nuts are a perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pharr, Texas, USA
Living In: Walcott, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I listened to the reviews and used 1/4 cup of cocoa powder instead of 2 Tbsps. Good recommendation, it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States