Chocolate Applesauce Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Well ... :D ... I tried this recipe to use up applesauce, cocoa & shortening. I subbed 2T oil & half cup cocoa for the squares. Put mine in a 9.5 x 13.5. The batter was pretty wet; no surprise, but quite applesauce looking. It filled the pan nicely then dropped to be similar to a cakelike brownie, a lowfat cakelike brownie. I'll pass. Baked Pumpkin bread from the same submitter is very good, btw. :) 'Think the thickness/thinness of the applesauce has a lot to do with this recipe being a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
this was an easy tasty cake it was realy good even without icing a used cocoa powder instead of the choolate squares and it still turned out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I did not care for the consistency of this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Good but if you like chocolate you might want to add more. One on this site complained about the oats. There are no oats in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I made this exactly as printed. It was easy and tasted ok, but I had a problem getting the melted chocolate to blend in. I will probably make it again, but I will definitely use cocoa powder instead of a chocolate square. Also, the cake was almost too moist. I will probably add about 1/4 c. additional oats next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
the cake by itself definitely didn't seem chocolatey enough, but what do you expect for using just a couple squares of chocolate? I also didn't have any condensed milk so I had to make a substitute using evaporated milk and sugar and it still turned out okay. This might explain why I had to bake 10 min longer than the recipe called for. After adding the frosting (I used the sour cream chocolate frosting on this site) it tasted great. Overall, it was easy to make. I'm subtracting a star just because the actual cake needed more chocolate, but after tweaking it a bit, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVINEGRACE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Excellent and super easy. I used 2 cups of home made applesauce. I used 3 tbsp cocoa powder as I didn't have any melting chocolate. 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup choc. chips. I also divided the batter into two loaf pans. Oy! Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooks, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States