Chocolate Angel Food Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
WOW WOW WOW!!! "chocolatey" and light - I served this with strawberries and cool whip - and I'm baking another one only one evening later! I'm converted...no more plain angel food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Very yummy... I left the grated chocolate in more of pieces and the cake turned out just fine. It looks really pretty with the chunks of chocolate showing. Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Lovely recipe, however I chose to eliminate the lemon juice, upped the vanilla to 1/2 tsp, and added 1/4 tsp of almond extract. Next go-round I will mix in some powdered instant coffee into the chocolate/flour mixture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryJo
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This cake was easy to make and tasted absolutely wonderful. I made it exactly like the recipe and finely grated my chocolate so there were not any pieces. I might have to try it next time with grating the chocolate in larger pieces. It serves up very pretty with sliced berries and a little whipped cream. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was ok. We always make regular angel food cake but wanted to try something different. I wasn't sure how this would come out but it was a nice change. I left out the chocolate chips because I was out and it still had a good chocolate flavor. I'll probably stick to the regular one but this wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I made this cake for my younger sister's 13th birthday. I agree that it was simple to make. It was not very popular, however. It turned out very spongy. It was more like bread than a cake. It did look like angel food cake, but it didn't taste nearly as good as it looked. I will not follow this recipe again. There has to be a recipe out there for a genuine, chocolate angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Wow. This cake got rave reviews at my husband's birthday party. Everyone was impressed that I was able to make this from scratch. The recipe was so easy to follow and just perfect. I dusted with powdered sugar to "pretty" it up. Grandma is still raving about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This cake was absolutely amazing. I made it for a dinner party and it was a huge hit with my guests. The cake was moist, and the little chocolate chunks added great flavor, yet the cake was not overwhelmingly sweet. I served it with fresh berries and homemade whipped cream. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Made this last year for Clare's birthday and she's still talking about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vail, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
It got eaten, but I'll never make this one again. It didn't have the angel-foodish texture I'm used to. Sorry, I didn't think it lived up to the hype.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States