Chocolate Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I've tried making homemade angel food cake 3 or 4 times and this was my first success. It took 13 eggs to make 2 cups. The eggs whipped up so high they nearly spilled over my kitchen aid mixer bowl but the texture of the cake was light and soft without being chewy--just the way an angel food cake should be. Oh, and I mixed in about 6 oz. of mini chocolate chips. Once cooled, I drizzled a chocolate ganache from this site over the top and sides. Some shaved chocolate swirls completed a lovely and (mostly) healthy birthday cake for my mom that every body loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
The best angel food cake i've ever made...but the directions would be difficult for someone who has never made an angelfood cake before. A bit more detail in the directions is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
My first angelfood cake .. it probably helped that I was using a new KitchenAid mixer but boy was this a LARGE cake, moist and delicious. Fine texture and a very appealing chocolate flavor. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
Great cake! Not too sweet with lots of chocolate taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
When the recipe called for a large bowl for the egg whites and cream of tartar, they meant it. This was my first experience with an angle food cake. I didn't realize that the eggs would triple in size. The cake was absolutely wonderful. There was no need for a frosting. I served with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Topped with strawberries & strawberry juice, this was EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Great cake! We live in England - they don't sell "cake flour" here. We substituted 3T plain flour for 3T corn starch (called corn flour in the UK). It was just a little more dense, but still very tasty. It was a perfect birthday cake for my birthday. Served with strawberries and homemade whip cream with liquor. very yummy! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
nice recipe, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
A family favorite - my sister-in-law's birthday request every year. A delicious take on a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
The first time I made this, I didn't whip the eggs long enough, so the cake was very dense. This time, I followed the directions to the tee, and it turned out WONDERFUL!!! Tastes like a 3 Musketeer bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States