Chocolate Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I've tried making homemade angel food cake 3 or 4 times and this was my first success. It took 13 eggs to make 2 cups. The eggs whipped up so high they nearly spilled over my kitchen aid mixer bowl but the texture of the cake was light and soft without being chewy--just the way an angel food cake should be. Oh, and I mixed in about 6 oz. of mini chocolate chips. Once cooled, I drizzled a chocolate ganache from this site over the top and sides. Some shaved chocolate swirls completed a lovely and (mostly) healthy birthday cake for my mom that every body loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Excellent angel food cake with a satisfying chocolate flavor. I agree that the recipe is a little hard to follow, so here are a few things that might help: I got two cups of egg whites from 15 medium-to-large eggs; I added the vanilla with the salt and cream of tartar instead of at the end to avoid having to overstir the batter; and I used an ungreased tube pan that I inverted on a glass bottle once it came out of the oven -- let it cool completely and then run a knife around the edges to remove from the pan. Also, I didn't have cake flour, so I substituted by mixing 2 tablespoons of corn starch with enough all-purpose flour to make 1 cup total (1-1/2 teaspoon CS per quarter cup APF) -- the easiest way to do this is to put the corn starch in the bottom of the measuring cup and then to fill with AP flour. This substitution worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
The best angel food cake i've ever made...but the directions would be difficult for someone who has never made an angelfood cake before. A bit more detail in the directions is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Excellent cake. Only thing I did different was I added the vanilla after I beat in the white sugar. I folded it in with a spatula. ALthough some complained, it is best when a recipe asks for egg whites in cups rather than in number of egg whites. That can vary too much because of the size of the egg. In general you will get 2 cups of whites out of anywhere from 14-16 large eggs. For those not sure what the mixture is supposed to look like at the various stages, you need to check a cookbook or look for photos online. It is hard to describe. That is not the fault of the author. I have served this cake plain, with ice cream and with whipped cream and raspberry sauce. It is loved all ways!!! Enjoy this great recipe!!!! Suggestion: After whipping up the egg whites, transfer to a very large bowl before you add the flour. Otherwise it will be very difficult to do. This recipe makes a large volume of egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Found the recipe hard to follow, ie how many eggs equals 2 cups of egg white, also unsure of the mix, looked horrible and luppy and am unsure if it will cook alright. i needed more directions. i.e what should the mix look like, how will i know when its cooked. alos i am not from the U.S and hence found some ingredence confusing i.e is confectioner's sugar - icing sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I have altered this recipe to be gluten free by using a mixture of half cornstarch and white rice flour and one tsp. Xanthan gum. My mom loved it as well as my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ellis Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
My husband said he didn't really care that much for angel food cake... until he tasted this one! But I did make a couple of changes: I cut down the powdered sugar to 3/4 cup, and substituted Ghiradelli sweetened cocoa powder + 2 TB dark cocoa. Also reduced vanilla to 1 tsp and added a tsp of Kahlua, adding them before the flour. Mixing speed is important. Instead of using high speed to beat the egg whites, start on low speed until the whites are broken down and frothy; add salt and cream of tartar and beat at medium speed until the egg whites form billowy mounds. Add sugar, 2 TB at a time, keeping speed set to medium, until all sugar is incorporated and soft peaks form. DO NOT beat until egg whites are stiff; that makes it hard to fold the flour in without deflating the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
My first attempt baking angel food cake. It turn out great and very tasty with appealing chocolate taste but too sweet for me. Will half the amount of sugar next time I bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
Tasted ok, but I have never made an angel food cake before and found it difficult to know when the eggs were beaten enough and when it was done. Also, took alot longer to bake then the recipe suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Very good with Cool Whip and strawberries as topping & filling. I cut the cake in half horizontally and put some filling in between. I agree the DIRECTIONS are NOT detailed enough, thank you other reviewers for the warning. So I referenced the Joy of Cooking's Angel Food cake directions; you use your favorite baking cookbook, it will save you ruining the cake. Too detailed directions to type out here. But the MEASUREMENTS made a great flavoured cake, if a bit chewy from all the sugar...not a super-light angel food cake...but still very high-rising, not dense, and tasty. And you MUST let it cool A LONG time before removing from pan. Remove from oven, run knife around edges (inside and outside edges), invert pan over serving tray and leave for at least half an hour, probably an hour, before tapping and shaking it out. It's the hardest part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States