Chocolate Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MARIAS23
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Simple, delicious and chocolatey without the sin. The only thing I would do different next time is to possibly use chocolate extract instead of vanilla for an extra chocolate kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Very good with Cool Whip and strawberries as topping & filling. I cut the cake in half horizontally and put some filling in between. I agree the DIRECTIONS are NOT detailed enough, thank you other reviewers for the warning. So I referenced the Joy of Cooking's Angel Food cake directions; you use your favorite baking cookbook, it will save you ruining the cake. Too detailed directions to type out here. But the MEASUREMENTS made a great flavoured cake, if a bit chewy from all the sugar...not a super-light angel food cake...but still very high-rising, not dense, and tasty. And you MUST let it cool A LONG time before removing from pan. Remove from oven, run knife around edges (inside and outside edges), invert pan over serving tray and leave for at least half an hour, probably an hour, before tapping and shaking it out. It's the hardest part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
The first time I made this, I didn't whip the eggs long enough, so the cake was very dense. This time, I followed the directions to the tee, and it turned out WONDERFUL!!! Tastes like a 3 Musketeer bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I've tried making homemade angel food cake 3 or 4 times and this was my first success. It took 13 eggs to make 2 cups. The eggs whipped up so high they nearly spilled over my kitchen aid mixer bowl but the texture of the cake was light and soft without being chewy--just the way an angel food cake should be. Oh, and I mixed in about 6 oz. of mini chocolate chips. Once cooled, I drizzled a chocolate ganache from this site over the top and sides. Some shaved chocolate swirls completed a lovely and (mostly) healthy birthday cake for my mom that every body loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
A family favorite - my sister-in-law's birthday request every year. A delicious take on a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I have altered this recipe to be gluten free by using a mixture of half cornstarch and white rice flour and one tsp. Xanthan gum. My mom loved it as well as my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ellis Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
nice recipe, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Great cake! We live in England - they don't sell "cake flour" here. We substituted 3T plain flour for 3T corn starch (called corn flour in the UK). It was just a little more dense, but still very tasty. It was a perfect birthday cake for my birthday. Served with strawberries and homemade whip cream with liquor. very yummy! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Topped with strawberries & strawberry juice, this was EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
When the recipe called for a large bowl for the egg whites and cream of tartar, they meant it. This was my first experience with an angle food cake. I didn't realize that the eggs would triple in size. The cake was absolutely wonderful. There was no need for a frosting. I served with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States